is loading
DE EN

Oscar Candon Interview

Oscar Candon is what you could call a working class hero. A carpenter by training, he worked hard as a sponsored skater to come ever closer to his own Supra colorway which is out now. He tends to skate full force and puts more work into his skating than what’s usual these days. Even though he might break a finger every once in a while or has to part ways with his board sponsor that's no reason to change for him since he has one lifetime goal: A piece of land with a little farm of his own.

I talked to Tura (David Turakiewicz of À propos Mag) yesterday and told him that I’ll interview you and he said, you're one of the smartest guys he knows, so I guess this will be a good interview.

[laughs] That’s pretty funny hearing that from him, because he’s seen me being really stupid, he’s seen me figthing and getting into trouble. But I guess I can be smart sometimes.

You were born in Montpellier and moved to Washington DC when you were seven.

My mum got offered a job at a hospital and we ended up going there for four years, but it didn’t go as planned and we had to leave because we didn’t have enough money to pay taxes. So we ended up going back to my grandmother’s house in the suburbs of Paris.

"I enjoy the feeling of beeing really beat up from trying a trick"

You started skating there, did you skate the Pulaski Plaza?

No, that’s the thing. I only skated at the parking lot of the appartement complex we were staying. That’s all I got to skate. I haven’t been back to DC ever since.

I read that your favourite videos back then were the Flip videos and Habitat „Mosaic“. What did you like about them?

The variety of the skaters in the videos. Habitat goes from Stefan Janoski to Fred Gall and the Flip videos go from Penny to Rowley to Glifberg. It was completely different skateboarding than in the Foundation or Zero videos from that time. That was the same type of skating for the whole video. And Flip and Habitat had more variety. That sounded more natural to me than just guys doing gnarly shit down rails.

Oscar Candon Interview

Your skating is really powerful. You don’t see that kind of skating that much nowadays. Especially in the Parisian scene it’s a lot of slappys and stuff.

That’s the thing. I don’t know why it is like that. But that’s how I like to skate and I’m not gonna change my shit for instagram and the fucking slappys these days. I respect it, because some of the shit they’re doing is insanely hard to do, but I’m not gonna change to look like that and be in that wave of how it is going. I’m happy with the way I skate. I think some people are stoked on how I skate, otherwise I wouldn’t be here today. Now I can make a living out of skating, too.

So I guess you don’t hang out at Republique a lot?

I never go to Republique. I mean, I end up going there sometimes, but I don’t like that place, I’m sorry.

Is it important for you to fight for your tricks, cause I can remember a lot of pictures of you with bloody hands and stuff.

Yeah, the thing is I end up skating a lot of spots nobody wants to skate. Those spots are often the ones with huge cracks and shitty floor. That’s why I skate 56mm wheels. I enjoy the feeling of being really beat up from trying a trick, instead of trying a line on ledges for three hours. It’s a different feeling of working for a trick. When you make it in the end you’re just like: „Fuck, I’m gonna chill for a day now“. I like that. It’s not every trick I do, but it happens quite often.

You recently broke three fingers [see the Supra NY clip].

That was stupid. I was trying a wallie boardslide an eleven stair hubba in New York. Sometimes it works when you just jump on big shit. Instead of rolling back and forth to it I just go and see what happens. And that try went wrong. I ended up scorpion, the fingers fully touched the back of the hand. Sometimes you eat shit like a motherfucker.

What put you on the map the first time was your Emerica part, right?

Yeah, or maybe the Trauma part before. But I wasn’t very hyped about this Emerica part. It isn’t the best thing I put out to be honest.

"Everyone does their solo parts. No team spirit anymore. I don’t like that"

Why not?

I don’t know. Just compared to other things I’ve worked on. I was really happy about the Trauma part. The Emerica part was the first part I did like you do it nowadays, everyone does their solo parts. No team spirit anymore. I don’t like that. The whole process of filming for the part, always skating alone or with different people. It’s not the same as when you film for a project with other people. When someone else gets the trick it’s like everyone got the trick. That’s what I miss doing solo videoparts. I film a part for Thrasher, but this time all the trips were with Lucien or the other guys. There was a team-feeling, but still solo projects are not the best thing for me.

After that part you got on Supra.

It was going okay with Emerica but it wasn’t really going anywhere. I got my 300 Euros per month and maybe it would still be the same. But Vaughan Baker was working for Supra at that time and offered me a better deal and I thought, fuck it, I should try it out and see what happens. And in the end I’m fucking happy I did it. I met some good friends and everything turned out to the best.

Was the UK Residency trip then the proving ground for you, to see if you fit into the team?

Oh yeah. Vaughan said, you come on this trip. I knew nobody and came on a trip with guys like Muska and Ellington. But it worked out. I guess I skated okay on that tour. And next thing you know, they involved me more in the company and now I’m full on the global team and have a colorway.

I think they were pretty impressed with your skating.

Because they’re not used to skating shitty spots in the UK. [laughs]

And you had a pretty gnarly ender in the video.

Fucking Muska was there, hyping shit up, it was amazing. I don’t know how, but I ended up getting so much footage from that trip and for some reason it worked out. That tour helped me out a lot in skateboarding.

"Greco is a pretty wild one. I won’t go into details but sometimes it’s pretty wild being around him when he’s not at home"

How was it to hang out with all those legends?

First it was a bit weird, because I didn’t really have my place in the group, but on the other side I never really had a cult about these guys as a kid, I wasn’t looking up to them as gods. I had respect for them and I still do, but I wasn’t a scared little boy on the side, I managed it. That helped. It takes time to meet people, like always when you’re in a new group. Now I know all of them and when we’re on a trip there is no problem.

Can you tell me a crazy tour story from one of those guys?

Greco is a pretty wild one. I won’t go into details but sometimes it’s pretty wild being around him when he’s not at home. But they’re all big characters, big names, legends. There’re tons of stories. I appreciate being around those dudes, seeing how they are. That’s pretty funny. Sometimes I’m like: „What the fuck are you doing?“, but they know what they’re doing. I don’t wanna talk shit about them, because I have respect for them, but I see some shit. [laughs]

The next step for you after the tour was your Kr3w Killers part. I think with that one you got worldwide recognition.

I guess it did help. It’s actually funny. We were in America doing some signings and a couple of kids there came up and said: „Hey, we liked your Kr3w part!“ So I think people have watched it, that’s cool, but I’m not pretty happy about that part either, because it’s kind of leftovers for what I’m working on now. It wasn’t really leftovers but not the best I had. Once again, one more solo videopart, but it wasn’t like: Okay, I’m gonna film a Kr3w part. It was footage from there, footage from there, footage from there. There are a couple of tricks in it, that I’m happy about, but I can’t wait to get my part out this year, the one I lost some blood for.

You’re filming for a Supra part on Thrasher but I thought there would be a whole Supra video. Is that idea canceled?

It went from being a Supra video to being a solo part to being a Supra video again and now it’s a solo part but with tricks of pretty much everyone in the team in that part. Like a little montage in the middle of the part and it’s planned for april. It’s almost done. I’m trying to finish it and the interview for Thrasher that comes out with it.

I think you’re a hard worker when it comes to parts as well as for tricks.

For sure, I try my best. No regret if you try your best. And I don’t wanna put out shit as well. I wanna put out stuff I’m happy about and I’m an asshole with myself.

You worked as a carpenter, is your work ethos coming from there?

I’ve never really thought about this, but maybe. At 15 years old I had to wake up at five in the morning to go to work at seven and start lifting heavy shit. I’m not complaining, there are kids in China and stuff, you know. But things are not always easy and maybe it’s better this way, because when it’s done, then you’re stoked.

How did you get from being a carpenter to skate for a living? I guess it was an easy decision

I’m not good with authority, so having a boss made me lose my mind. It couldn’t go on. I have my degree but after that Emerica started paying me 300 Euros a month and I’m not paying rent and can live like a gipsy, so from there I just lived like a gipsy for a long time. Then slowly I got a bit more money and now I’m okay. I have enough money to live. The carpentry had to stop and I had to work as my own boss. I’m fucking glad skateboarding worked out. I’m fucking lucky.

Oscar Candon Interview

Now you have your own colourway. How did that happen?

That was out of nowhere. Vaughan pushed it again. He left Supra now, but he always had my back. A year ago he told me that I will have a colourway and I was like: „Why the fuck should I have a colourway? Who the fuck am I?“ I felt weird about it first, but the year went by and I put out some more shit, was on more trips, got more involved with the team, so now it kinda makes sense.

Besides Supra, what’s planned with Frank skateboards? Because you’re not named on the insta page anymore, but you’re still on the team, right?

No I’m not, because I have different points of view than Dallas [Rockvam] has and it was not working for me. It didn’t go in the direction I wanted to go, towards where I’m happy and things escalated to the point where I had to leave.

Where did you want to go?

I would really love to feel that the team is really working on shit… I don’t know, Frank was good, but Eniz [Fazliov] is in Finland, Sebi [Dorfer] is in Austria or Barcelona, Rob [Maatman] is in Holland, the team is not really together at all and I find that doesn’t really work for a board company. You see all the new little board companys are fucking killing it and it’s normal. The hype is there, it’s a crew of friends and they’re just doing their thing. People can relate to that instead of just a team edit here and there. I’d like to find something more like that. I’d like to keep it euro, but we’ll see.

So you’re without a boardsponsor right now?

Yeah, I’m buying my boards or Dee got me a Baker board, I’m skating that right now. But I’m not skating for Baker.

It would be the next logical step to get a US boardsponsor.

Yeah, that’s the thing. But then again, these days there is almost as much light on Europe as on California. And I already travel a lot to America with Supra and I’m not sure if I want to spent half of my year in America, if I have to travel for my boardsponsor as well. I still want to spend most time in Europe, so a european boardcompany would make sense. But then again, if some really good American company comes up with an offer I’m happy with…

"Once they wake up and real life is here, I hope mommy and daddy have money"

But you made your way up step by step, so I guess you’ll keep going that direction.

I hope so. Hopefully I don’t get hurt and it goes on like this. But it has never been a goal for me to become a pro skater. I go with how things are and where I’m happy. For now I’m happy but if someday I’m not happy anymore, I’ll do something else.

Like going to your familys holiday house in Sweden and do some fishing?

Yeah, or buying some land. I actually try to save some money to buy some land, maybe south of France or Basque country. I really like the mountains as well, maybe alps.

And then living in the nature and chill.

At least having a place where it’s mine. I try to save up from skateboarding and then I can say, fuck it, I have all those experiences… I’m not asking for a crazy amount of land and land is cheap if you’re far from the city. I want a place where I can do what I want, when skateboarding is done. So that I don’t have to get a stupid job to pay rent. If I don't wanna get a job, I can grow vegetables or go fishing then.

Maybe that’s the reason Tura says you’re smart, because a lot of guys spend all their money on party and cars and stuff and you try to save it.

Well, I don’t make crazy money either. In the last years I wasn’t able to save money. It just started to be able to save money and it’s not a crazy amount. But having some money on the side is so life changing. Some guys have the chance to do it and if they don’t do it, it’s stupid. Once they wake up and real life is here, I hope mommy and daddy have money.

There are some sad stories.

Especially if you live in the city… Do you know Dominik Dietrich? He lives in the countryside now with his girlfriend and they have a permaculture farm. They’re killling it! He doesn’t get money from skateboarding anymore and I know he is working a bit, but he made a fucking smart move and didn’t stay in the city, because if you stay there without a job, you can try to become an artist or some shit but it’s hard. I don’t wanna spend my days working for some stupid ass corporation. Fuck that, I’d rather be poor and grow my own stuff than being another little sheep.

Oscar Candon Interview

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

is loading
DE EN

Oscar Candon Interview

Man könnte sagen, Oscar Candon ist ein Working Class Hero. Vom Zimmermann ging es zum gesponserten Skater und da hat er sich nun Schritt für Schritt zum eigenen Supra Colorway hochgearbeitet. Sein Skaten ist dabei ebenfalls kraftvoller und näher an ehrlicher Arbeit als das Meiste, was heute angesagt ist. Für Oscar ist das allerdings kein Grund sich zu ändern, auch wenn er sich dadurch mal ein paar Finger bricht oder sich von seinem Boardsponsor trennen muss. Er hat nämlich ein klares Ziel vor Augen: ein eigenes Stück Land samt kleinem Bauernhof.
Ich hab gestern mit Tura (David Turakiewicz vom A propos Mag) gesprochen und er meinte, du seist einer der schlausten Jungs die er kennt.
[lacht] Es ist witzig das von ihm zu hören, denn er hat mich auf Tour schon echt dumme Sachen machen sehn. Er hat mich in Schlägereien gesehen oder sonstwie Ärger bekommen. Aber ich kann manchmal wohl auch schlau sein.
Du wurdest in Montpellier geboren, bist mit sieben aber nach Washington, DC gezogen.
Meine Mutter bekam dort einen Job in einem Krankenhaus, also waren wir vier Jahre dort, aber es lief nicht wie geplant und wir mussten gehen, weil wir die Steuern nicht zahlen konnten. Also sind wir zurück und im Haus meiner Großmutter in einem Vorort von Paris eingezogen.

"Mir gefällt es, sich nach einem Trick komplett im Arsch zu fühlen"

Du hast in Washington mit Skaten angefangen. Bist du auch am Pulaski Plaza geskatet?
Leider nicht. Ich bin immer nur den Parkplatz in unserem Appartment-Komplex geskatet. Und ich war seitdem auch nicht wieder in DC.
Ich hab gelesen dass deine Lieblingsvideos früher die Flip Videos und Habitats „Mosaic“ waren. Was gefiel dir daran?
Die Bandbreite der Skater. Habitat ging von Stefan Janoski bis Fred Gall und Flip von Penny über Rowley zu Glifberg. Es war komplett anderes Skaten als in den Foundation oder Zero Videos aus der Zeit. Dort gab es das komplette Video das gleiche Skaten. Flip und Habitat deckten eine größere Bandbreite ab und das kam mir natürlicher vor als sich nur Rails runter zu werfen. Oscar Candon Interview
Dein Skaten ist sehr kraftvoll. Heutzutage sieht man das nicht mehr so häufig. Gerade die Pariser Szene ist ja viel auf Slappys und sowas aus.
Das ist der Punkt. Keine Ahnung warum das so ist. Aber ich skate halt wie es mir gefällt und werd mich nicht für Instagram oder den Slappy Kram ändern. Ich respektiere das, denn einiges von dem was sie machen ist unglaublich schwer, aber ich ändere mich nicht um da reinzupassen und auf der Welle mitzureiten. Ich bin zufrieden damit wie ich skate und ich denke, einigen anderen Leuten gefällt das auch, sonst wär ich nicht hier. Ich kann immerhin vom Skaten leben.
Ich geh also davon aus, dass du nicht viel an Republique abhängst?
Ich bin da nie. Okay, hin und wieder lande ich dort, aber ich mag den Spot nicht, tut mir leid.
Ist es dir wichtig für deine Tricks zu kämpfen? Es gibt ziemlich viele Bilder von dir mit blutigen Händen.
Ja, ich skate halt irgendwie viele Spots, die niemand sonst fährt. Die Spots haben meistens große Cracks oder beschissenen Boden. Deshalb fahr ich auch 56mm Rollen. Mir gefällt es auch, sich nach einem Trick komplett im Arsch zu fühlen, anstatt drei Stunden lang eine Curbline zu filmen. Wenn du den Trick am Ende stehst denkst du: „Fuck, ich chill jetzt erst Mal einen Tag!“ Ich mag das, weil man dafür gearbeitet hat. Nicht jeder meiner Tricks ist so, aber es passiert schon häufig. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKLJqPMhXqQ
Du hast dir kürzlich drei Finger gebrochen (siehe NYC Video).
Oh das war dumm. Ich hab einen Wallie Boardslide an einer 11er Hubba in New York probiert. Manchmal klappt es, wenn du einfach auf große Spots draufgehst. Statt sich langsam vorzutasten einfach draufspringen. Bei dem Versuch ging es leider schief und ich hab einen Skorpion gemacht. Die Finger haben dabei komplett den Handrücken berührt. Manchmal frisst du eben richtig Scheiße.
Du bist erstmals richtig durch deinen Emerica Part aufgefallen, oder?
Ja, oder vielleicht schon mit dem Trauma Part vorher. Der Emerica Part hat mir allerdings nicht besonders gefallen. Um ehrlich zu sein gehört er nicht zum Besten was ich rausgebracht habe.

"Jeder filmt Einzelparts. Es gibt keinen Teamspirit mehr. Das gefällt mir nicht"

Warum nicht?
Keine Ahnung, einfach im Vergleich zu anderen Sachen. Mit dem Trauma Part z.B. war ich sehr zufrieden. Der Emerica Part war der erste Part, der so produziert wurde, wie es heute eben ist – jeder filmt Einzelparts. Es gibt keinen Teamspirit mehr. Das gefällt mir nicht. Man geht alleine skaten oder immer mit anderen Leuten. Das ist nicht das Gleiche als wenn du mit mehreren Leuten für ein Projekt filmst. Wenn jemand anderes einen Trick macht, fühlt es sich an als hätten den alle gemacht. Das vermisse ich an Einzelparts, so wie jetzt. Ich filme gerade einen Thrasher Part. Aber diesmal waren bei allen Trips Lucien (Clarke) und die anderen Jungs dabei. Es gab also einen Teamgeist, aber trotzdem sind Einzelparts nicht mein Ding.
Nach dem Emerica Part bist du dann auf Supra gekommen.
Eigentlich lief es ganz gut mit Emerica, aber irgendwie plätscherte das so ziellos vor sich hin. Ich bekam halt meine 300 Euro im Monat und vielleicht wär das heute noch so. Aber Vaughn Baker hat damals für Supra gearbeitet und mir einen besseren Deal angeboten und ich dachte, scheiß drauf, ich versuch’s und schau was passiert. Und ich bin verdammt glücklich das gemacht zu haben. Ich hab viele neue Freunde gefunden und alles hat sich zum Besten entwickelt. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAypmo18Mwg
War die UK Residency Tour dann ein Test, ob du ins Team passt?
Auf jeden Fall. Vaughn sagte, ich soll auf diesen Trip kommen. Ich kannte niemanden und war mit Leuten wie Muska und Ellington unterwegs, aber es hat geklappt. Ich denke ich bin ganz okay geskatet und kurz darauf haben sie mich mehr in die Company einbezogen und jetzt bin ich im Global Team und hab einen eigenen Colorway.
Ich glaube die waren von deinem Skaten ziemlich beeindruckt.
Weil sie es nicht gewöhnt sind abgeranzte UK Spots zu skaten. [lacht]
Und du hattest einen gnarly Ender im Video.
Yeah, Muska war da und hat gut Stimmung gemacht, das war geil. Keine Ahnung wie, aber ich hab echt viel Footage zusammenbekommen. Die Tour hat mir im Skaten viel weitergeholfen.

"Greco ist ein ziemlich wilder Hund. Ich möchte nicht ins Detail gehen, aber manchmal wird es wild mit ihm"

Wie war es mit den ganzen Legenden abzuhängen?
Am Anfang war es seltsam, weil ich erst noch meinen Platz in der Gruppe finden musste, aber andererseits hab ich die Jungs als Kind auch nie abgöttisch verehrt. Ich hab sie respektiert und tu das immer noch, aber ich war deshalb jetzt nicht ein verängstigter, kleiner Junge, sonder bin gut damit klargekommen. Es braucht eben immer Zeit Leute kennenzulernen. Jetzt kenne ich sie alle und es gibt keine Probleme wenn wir unterwegs sind.
Hast du verrückte Geschichten von den Jungs parat?
Greco ist ein ziemlich wilder Hund. Ich möchte nicht ins Detail gehen, aber manchmal wird es wild mit ihm, wenn er nicht zuhause in seinem gewohntem Umfeld ist. Es sind alles starke Charaktere, große Namen, Legenden. Es gibt haufenweise Geschichten. Ich schätze es sehr mit ihnen abzuhängen und sie kennenzulernen. Das ist ziemlich spaßig. Gelegentlich denke ich: „Was zur Hölle machst du da?“, aber sie wissen genau was sie tun. Ich will auch nicht schlecht über sie reden, weil ich sie alle respektiere, aber manchmal krieg ich schon krassen Scheiß mit. [lacht] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=12d28zMRIYs
Nach der Tour kam der Kr3w Killers Part. Danach kannten dich auch weltweit mehr Leute.
Ja, das hat wohl geholfen. Es ist lustig, dass danach bei Autogrammstunden in Amerika einige Kids ankamen und sagten: „Hey, dein Kr3w Part hat mir gefallen!“ Also haben die Leute den Part wohl wahrgenommen, das ist cool, aber auch damit bin ich nicht so wirklich zufrieden, weil es irgendwie Leftovers meines aktuellen Projekts waren. Also nicht wirklich Leftovers, aber nicht meine besten Sachen. Es gibt darin einige Tricks die mir gefallen, aber ich kann es nicht erwarten, bis endlich mein Part rauskommt, für den ich einiges an Blut gelassen habe.
Du filmst einen Supra Part für Thrasher, dabei hatte ich gedacht es würde ein komplettes Supra Video geben. Ist das gestrichen?
Erst war der Plan ein Supra Video, dann Einzelpart, dann wieder Supra Video und jetzt ist es ein Part geworden, aber mit einer kleinen Montage in der Mitte in der ziemlich jeder Teamfahrer einen Part hat. Der Part ist für April geplant und fast fertig. Ich bring ihn gerade zu Ende und auch das dazugehörige Thrasher Interview.
Ich hab das Gefühl, dass du für deine Parts, genau wie für deine Tricks, hart arbeitest.
Klar, ich gebe mein Bestes. Du musst nichts bereuen, wenn du dein Bestes gibst. Und ich will ja auch keinen Scheiß veröffentlichen. Ich will nur Sachen rausbringen mit denen ich zufrieden bin und bin da ziemlich streng mit mir.
Du hast als Zimmerer gearbeitet, kommt daher diese Arbeitseinstellung?
Darüber hab ich noch nie nachgedacht, aber vielleicht. Mit 15 musste ich um fünf aufstehen und um sieben in die Arbeit um dort schweren Scheiß rumzuschleppen. Ich beschwer mich nicht, es gibt Kids in China die haben es härter, aber die Dinge laufen eben nicht immer wie geschmiert und wahrscheinlich ist es auch besser so, denn wenn du es dann geschafft hast, bist du gestoked.
Wie kame es, dass du irgendwann mit Skaten und nicht mehr mit der Zimmerei dein Geld verdient hast?
Ich kann nicht gut mit Autoritäten umgehen, deshalb hat mich mein Chef verrückt gemacht. So ging es nicht weiter. Ich hab meine Ausbildung beendet, aber danach hat es angefangen, dass Emerica mir 300 Euro im Monat gezahlt hat und ich muss keine Miete zahlen und komm auf den Gipsy Lifestyle klar. Also hab ich von da an für lange Zeit so gelebt. Dann hat es langsam angefangen, dass ich mehr Geld bekommen habe und jetzt ist es okay. Ich hab genug Geld zum leben. Das mit der Zimmerei musste aufhören und ich musste mein eigener Chef sein. Ich bin echt froh, dass das mit Skateboarding geklappt hat, ich hab da verdammt viel Glück. Oscar Candon Interview
Jetzt hast du deinen eigenen Colorway. Wie kam es dazu?
Wie aus dem Nichts. Vaughn hat sich wieder dafür eingesetzt. Er arbeitet jetzt nicht mehr für Supra aber hat mir immer den Rücken gestärkt. Vor einem Jahr hat er mir gesagt, dass ich einen Colorway bekommen soll und ich dachte: „Warum gerade ich? Wer zur Hölle bin ich schon?“ Es hat sich zuerst seltsam angefühlt, aber ein Jahr ist ins Land gezogen und ich hab mehr Sachen veröffentlicht, war auf mehr Trips, konnte mich mehr ins Team einbringen, also passt das jetzt.
Neben Supra, was geht bei Frank. Du stehst auf Instagram nicht mehr auf der Teamliste, aber du bist noch im Team, oder?
Nein, weil ich andere Ansichten als Dallas (Rockvam) habe und es für mich nicht mehr funktioniert hat. Es ging nicht in die Richtung die ich mir gewünscht hätte und womit ich glücklich gewesen wäre und es hat sich alles zu einem Punkt hochgeschaukelt, an dem ich gehen musste.
In welche Richtung wolltest du?
Mir gefällt es wenn ich merke, dass das Team zusammen an Sachen arbeitet… Ich weiß auch nicht, Frank war schon gut, aber Eniz (Fazliov) ist in Finnland, Sebi (Dorfer) in Österreich oder Barcelona und Rob (Maatman) in Holland. Das Team ist nicht wirklich zusammen und meiner Meinung nacht funktioniert das nicht für eine Boardcompany. Du siehst ja wie die ganzen neuen, kleinen Companys abgehen und das ist ja auch klar. Die sind gehyped, es ist eine Crew aus Freunden und sie machen ihr Ding. Damit können sich Leute identifizieren, anstatt gelegentlich einen Team Edit rauszubringen. Ich hätte gerne etwas, das mehr in diese Richtung geht. Ich würde auch gerne in Europa bleiben, aber wir werden sehen.
Du hast momentan keinen Boardsponsor?
Genau, ich kauf meine Boards oder Dee (Ostrander) hat mir gerade ein Baker Board gegebn. Ich fahr aber nicht für Baker. Es sind zwar ein paar Sachen in den Staaten im Gespräch, aber ich treff da aktuell keine Entscheidungen. Es gab ein paar Angebote, aber ich will mir da genau meine Gedanken machen.
Ein US Boardsponsor wäre der nächste logische Schritt.
Ich weiß, genau das ist das Ding. Aber dann wiederum bekommt Europa ja mittlerweile fast genau so viel Aufmerksamkeit wie Kalifornien. Und ich bin durch Supra eh schon viel in Amerika und ich weiß nicht, ob ich die Hälfte des Jahres in Amerika verbringen möchte, wenn ich dann auch noch für meinen Boardsponsor rüber müsste. Ich will immer noch lieber in Europa meine Zeit verbringen, also würde eine europäische Company Sinn machen. Wenn natürlich eine amerkanische Company mit einem echt guten Angebot ankommt…

"Wenn irgendwann das echte Leben bei ihnen anklopft kann man nur hoffen, dass Mami und Papi Geld haben"

Du hast dich Schritt für Schritt hochgearbeitet, ich denke das wird so weitergehen.
Ich hoffe es. Hoffentlich verletze ich mich nicht und es geht so weiter. Es war aber auch nie ein Ziel von mir Pro zu werden. Ich nehm die Dinge wie sie kommen und mache was mich glücklich macht. Im Moment bin ich glücklich, aber falls sich das irgendwann ändern sollte, dann mach ich was Anderes.
Vielleicht in das schwedische Ferienhaus deiner Familie ziehen und angeln?
Ja, oder Land kaufen. Ich versuch gerade Geld zu sparen um Land zu kaufen, in Südfrankreich oder im Baskenland. Ich mag auch die Berge, also vielleicht Alpen.
Und dann lebst du in der Natur und chillst.
Zumindest will ich einen Ort haben der mir gehört. Ich spar mir durch Skaten was an und kann irgendwann sagen, ich hab all die Erfahrungen gemacht und jetzt – fuck it. Ich brauch kein riesiges Grundstück und Grund ist günstig, wenn du weit von Städten entfernt suchst. Ich will einen Ort an dem ich machen kann was ich will, wenn das mit Skaten durch ist, damit ich nicht irgendeinen stumpfen Job machen muss um die Miete zahlen zu können. Wenn ich nicht arbeiten möchte, kann ich Gemüse anbauen oder fischen gehen.
Vielleicht sagt Tura deshalb von dir, dass du schlau bist. Viele in deiner Position geben ihr Geld für Partys, Autos und solchen Kram aus und du sparst.
Ich verdien jetzt auch nicht Unmengen. Die letzten Jahre ging es nicht, was beiseite zu legen, das hat gerade erst angefangen und es sind auch keine großen Beträge. Aber etwas Geld auf der hohen Kante zu haben verändert das Leben krass. Wenn jemand die Chance hat Geld anzusparen und es nicht macht, ist er dumm. Wenn irgendwann das echte Leben bei ihnen anklopft kann man nur hoffen, dass Mami und Papi Geld haben.
Es gibt ein paar traurige Beispiele.
Vor allem wenn du in der Stadt wohnst… Kennst du Dominik Dietrich? Er ist jetzt mit seiner Freundin aufs Land gezogen und sie haben einen Permakultur Bauernhof. Die machen alles richtig! Er verdient mit Skaten kein Geld mehr, aber hat noch einen kleinen Job nebenher und hat es echt schlau gemacht, aus der Stadt wegzuziehen. Denn wenn du da ohne Job wohnst, kannst du höchstens versuchen Künstler zu werden, aber das ist hart. Ich möchte meine Zeit nicht damit verschwenden für irgendeine gesichtslose Firma zu arbeiten. Scheiß drauf, ich bin lieber arm und bau meine eigenen Lebensmittel an, anstatt ein weiteres kleines Schaaf in der Herde zu sein! Oscar Candon Interview
Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

Henne Tapes – Lisbon

Feb. 25, 2016
NXT

Carhartt – Mongolei Tour

Feb. 22, 2016