is loading
DE EN

Cruis ’n Elements Ausstellung mit Fred Mortagne

Leica Galerie Frankfurt Not only that Leica produce finest cameras every photographer would like to get in his hands, they also work together with selected skate photographers. There will be an exhibition dedicated to skateboarding and surfing in the Leica gallery Frankfurt, with guys like French Fred and Hugh Holland. It’s called „Cruise ’n Elements“ and it starts on the 1st of July and will end on the 27th of August. We’ve just asked Fred a few questions in addition to the project.
Fred, you’re an official Leica photographer, right? How did you get in contact with Leica and in which way do you collaborate with them now?
It is more of a collaboration, that grew over time. I’m not under contract, although it was meant to happen, but finally never did. It started with the 2013 edition of the Red Bull Illume photography competition. Leica were partner, and because I won the first edition in 2007, I was loaned there new M Monochrom camera to enter pictures in the contest shot with it. The deal was that I could keep the camera if I placed a picture in the top 50. I always did for all the previews editions, but that time I only made it to the top 250. So I was meant to return the camera, but all the time I had it, I shot as much as possible with it, so I would have material to show to Leica. They liked it a lot, and eventually, after some time, they told me I could keep the camera. So I kept shooting loads with it, and from there, it lead to more projects with them, like when last year the commisionned me to shoot with their brand new SL camera system for its worldwide launch. I mean I am super honored that my photography can have such importance for them, and that they totally like skateboarding and let me total freedom with it. ©-Fred-Mortagne-

Brandon Westgate – The Flume

You’r one of six photographers that will be part of the "Cruise ’n Elements" exhibition in the Leica gallery in Frankfurt. What is the exhibition about?
Yeah it’s a collective exhibition, with both skateboarding and surfing, with photographers from very different generations. For example it will go back in time as far as the seventies, with the famous photography of Hugh Holland.
Which of your photos will be shown?
A selection of my most powerful pictures shot with the M Monochrom, as well as a part of the serie I shot in Los Angeles with the SL. I will not only show skateboarding, mixing it up with graphical and ambiant pictures that are part of the same urban environment as skateboarding, where I spend a lot of my time. ©-Fred-Mortagne

Nassim Guammaz – Backside Smithgrind

What else have you planned for the coming months?
The main thing this year for my photography is the release of my first major book, published by Thomas Campbell’s Um Yeah Arts. I’m really excited about it, it covers my whole photography career. It will be strictly black and white, with a mixture of skateboarding and other things. The exhibition will give a little glimpse at how my book will look like. I can tell you the title: “Attraper au vol”. Yes it’s in French! I got the privilege to have Anton Corbijn accepting to write the foreword for it, and it was like Xmas when he did it, he is one of my heroes, also because like himself I am both a director and a photographer. Oh yeah and Leica will also exhibit my work again, in september, on their booth at Photokina in Cologne. 2016 is going good so far. My hard work along the years is paying off. It’s not always been easy as far as my photography. For many years it didn’t appeal to the magazines or the brands. It was special, but I sticked to it, which helped me build something strong. That’s why I never recommend to follow trends or to adapt too much to the commercial aspect of things in general. Never making compromises is a commitment, but is priceless. FHR_Einladung_1607-2
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

is loading
DE EN

Cruis ’n Elements Ausstellung mit Fred Mortagne

Leica Galerie Frankfurt Leica machen nicht nur feine Kameras, die sich jeder Fotograf nur zu gerne über die Schulter hängen würde, sie arbeiten auch mit einigen Fotografen aus der Skateszene zusammen. Einer davon ist French Fred und der ist nun Teil einer Ausstellung in der Leica Galerie Frankfurt, die sich Skateboarding und Surfen widmet. Von 01. Juli bis 27. August gibt es "Cruis ’n Elements" in Frankfurt zu sehen. Wir haben Fred dazu ein paar Fragen gestellt.
Hi Fred, du bist offizieller Leica-Fotograf, richtig? Wie bist du mit Leica in Kontakt gekommen und wie gestaltet sich eure Zusammenarbeit?
Es ist eher eine Zusammenarbeit die mit der Zeit gekommen ist. Ich hab keinen Vertrag mit Leica, obwohl es anfangs geplant war. Es begann alles 2013 mit Red Bulls „Illume“ Fotowettbewerb bei dem Leica Partner war. Da ich die erste Ausgabe des Wettbewerb 2007 gewonnen hatte, wurde mir Leicas neue M Monochrom Kamera geliehen, um damit Fotos für den Wettbewerb einzureichen. Die Abmachung dabei war, dass ich die Kamera behalten könne, sollte ich ein Foto unter den Top 50 platzieren. Das hab ich in den vorherigen Ausgaben immer geschafft aber diesmal kam ich nur unter die Top 250, also musste ich die Kamera zurückgeben. Doch die gesamte Zeit, in der ich die Kamera hatte, fotografierte ich so viel wie möglich um Material zu haben, das ich Leica zeigen könnte. Ihnen gefiel es ziemlich gut und nach einiger Zeit meinten sie, ich könne die Kamera behalten. Ich hab weiter viel damit fotografiert, was zu mehr Projekten mit ihnen führte. Wie letztes Jahr, als sie mich beauftragten mit ihrem brandneuen SL Kamerasystem Bilder für den Launch der Kamera zu schießen. Ich fühle mich wahnsinnig geehrt, dass meine Fotografie so eine große Bedeutung für sie hat, dass sie so auf Skateboarding stehen und mir dabei absolute Freiheit geben. ©-Fred-Mortagne-

Brandon Westgate – The Flume

Du bist einer von sechs Fotografen der „Cruise 'n Elements“ Ausstellung, in der Leica Gallerie Frankfurt. Um was geht es in dieser Ausstellung?
Es ist eine Gruppenausstellung mit Skateboarding wie auch Surfing und Fotografen aus verschiedensten Generationen. Zum Beispiel wird es bis in die Siebziger zurückgehen, mit den berühmten Bildern von Hugh Holland.
Welche deiner Fotos werden gezeigt?
Eine Auswahl meiner ausdrucksstärksten Fotos, welche mit der M Monochrom geschossen wurden. Einen anderen Teil habe ich mit der SL in Los Angeles aufgenommen. Ich werde jedoch nicht nur Skateboarding zeigen, sondern auch grafische, atmosphärische Bilder ausstellen, die Teil der gleichen urbanen Umwelt wie Skateboarding sind. ©-Fred-Mortagne

Nassim Guammaz – Backside Smithgrind

Was hast du sonst für die nächsten Monate geplant?
Das Wichtigste wird dieses Jahr der Release meines ersten größeren Buchs, welches über Thomas Campbell's „Um Yeah Arts“ veröffentlicht wird. Ich bin wirklich begeistert davon, es zeigt meine gesamte fotografische Karriere. Es wird durchweg schwarz und weiß, mit einer Mischung aus Skateboarding und anderen Sachen. Die Ausstellung wird einen kleinen Einblick geben, wie das Buch aussehen wird. Ich kann euch den Titel verraten: „Attraper au vol“ (dt. "Beim Klauen erwischt werden"). Ja, es ist auf französisch! Ich habe das Privileg, dass Anton Corbijn das Vorwort schreibt und es war wie Weihnachten für mich als er es machte. Er ist einer meiner Helden! Er ist wie ich sowohl Filmemacher als auch Fotograf. Und Leica wird meine Arbeiten nochmal ausstellen, diesen September an ihrem Stand auf der Photokina in Köln. 2016 läuft echt gut bis jetzt. Meine harte Arbeit über all die Jahre zahlt sich aus. Das Fotografieren war nämlich nicht immer einfach. Viele Jahre kamen meine Arbeiten nicht bei den Magazinen oder Firmen an. Es war eben eigen aber ich bin dabei geblieben, was mir half etwas aufzubauen. Deshalb empfehle ich nicht Trends zu folgen oder sich zu sehr an kommerziellen Aspekten zu orientieren. Niemals Kompromisse einzugehen verlangt Hingabe, aber es ist unbezahlbar. FHR_Einladung_1607-2
Werbung
Werbung
Werbung