is loading
DE EN

Willow Interview – Sprankles and Furry Bandanas

First Etnies Trip, then skatedeluxe tour and now again with LRG on the road – Willow has spent a lot of time on the road recently. But now he needs to put his feet up for a few days because he rolled his ankle real bad on the last trip. However he already has umpteen projects in his mind.  

Tell me Willow, how was the LRG Tour?

As always super chill. Christian (Welther) is kinda the dad of the team. He looks after everything – you can count on him as friend as well as a organizer a 100%. The tour itself was a lot of driving but it couldn't work differently because we wanted to visit every shop. In Trier we did a demo at a streetspot, as to the rest we've been mainly in Skateparks. In Nuremberg we've been in a shopping mall but unfortunately I couldn't be there because I was hurt.

A shopping mall?

Yeah, the skateshop is located there. They set up a few ledges and blocked the way with barrier tape.

Willow – Varial Heelflip Varial Heelflip in Trier

How did you get hurt?

At a spot in Salzburg which already exists forever but everybody passes by because it's actually insane to do a trick there. You'll need a lot of luck to nail it but I actually felt certain, that I could land a Kickflip there. It's an 11 stairset with a small grassgap behind it and then there is a square meter of concrete where I wanted to land. And there is a a downhill close behind it. I ollied too far and would have landed directly on the grass instead of on the concrete. So I kicked the board away and wanted to come to a stop. But the grass was dampish and went downhill, so I stepped into a pit and my foot wrinkled up backwards. As a result I overstretched all my ligaments in my midfoot.

Would that have been for the LRG Tourvideo or do you have already a new videoproject after 
Where We Come From

Etnies Video! 100%! Nine months to go. I already have been 3 weeks on filming mission before LRG and skatedeluxe. That's only the second Etnies video in thirty years (here the first one) and therefore I'll try to do my best.

So the Australia trip in two weeks is also because of the Etnies video?

Exactly, but first of all it goes to the States where I meant to acclimate and warm up in the Berrics. Then I'll fly over to Australia for street skating.

So you got to be fit till then.

Yeah, I'm stocked on ice at the moment and Stephan, my physiotherapist, comes every evening around and does a laser therapy. The swelling has to be gone before the next NMRI to see if really no ligaments ripped off. But we can manage that.

Willow Fuß

Did anything special happen on the LRG tour apart from that? 

Puh. [thinking] Burny is something special. A fine and special breed of men. He was always a positive pole and motivated all of us. When you witness Burny for one day only, you know what I'm talking about. I've spend as part of the skatedeluxe tour almost one month with Burny on the road and that naturally binds together. He also said that I'm more than just a skater for him, I'm one of his really good homies now. And this is how I see it as well.

How was it with Niilo Nikkanen, he was on tour for first time, right? 

He's a deep one. But if he says something it's always funny. I heard him once or twice speaking and then it was always something funny. You just have to look in his face and then it's enough information for me. If he grins it means that he's doing well and thats how it should be.

"I thought about to wear a bandana like a laundress, over it a beanie and let the bandana still hang out for a bit. Gangster style."

Now that you are hurt and hanging around at home, you probably got time to putter around. Are there any news from the garage?

I just build little dollhouse chairs and sofas for a waldorf kindergarten and started to glue some kind of alien patterns on my old guttering.

I saw that you also do shirts for kids now.

Yes, because I think there are barely cool shirts for kids and I want to do clothes that my kids like.

Willow

What else is trendy in Winter 2015? Is your fur hat fashionable again?

Nah, Bandana. Fur-Bandana. [laughs] Nah, I don't know yet. But something will come to my mind, I will think about that. I thought about to wear a bandana like a laundress, over it a beanie and let the bandana still hang out for a bit. Gangster style. But maybe Nicole decorates me this winter and I look completely different. Maybe I will wear an Onesie then. [laughs] White shoes, black Onesie, huge backprint logo, that would too sick. Maybe I even get a cover with an Onesie? Let's do this!

You could also print a nude photo on the Onesie, so it looks like you would be naked.

This would be insane. Preferably with the tattoos. So everybody thinks: “Sick, he even skates naked in the wintertime!“

And what's going on with Willows World? When does your Youtube Show start? 

That's another story. I need Janosch (Pugnaghi) to edit all the stuff but at the moment he is busy with your Untergrund video. But I think, that the first episodes will come in October.

I'm curious about it.

Me too. You guys can join. I'll come one day over to the office and do an internship. Like a whirlwind and make a huge mess.

For sure!
There will be more from the LRG tour tomorrow. The full tour video will be posted, so stay up to date.
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

is loading
DE EN

Willow Interview – Wurstfuß mit Fell-Bandana

Erst Etnies Trip, dann skatedeluxe Tour und nun noch mit LRG on the road – Willow war in letzter Zeit wieder viel unterwegs. Jetzt heißt es aber erst mal ein paar Tage die Füße hochlegen, weil er auf dem letzten Trip fieß umgeknickt ist. Doch er hat schon wieder zig Projekte im Kopf.
Erzähl Willow, wie war die LRG Tour?
Wie immer mega chillig. Christian (Welther) ist ja quasi der Vater des Teams. Der kümmert sich um alles – man kann sich sowohl als Freund, als auch als Organisator 100% auf ihn verlassen. Die Tour an sich war ein bisschen viel Fahrerei, aber das ging nicht anders, denn wir wollten auch allen Shops eine Freude machen. In Trier sind wir am Streetspot Demo gefahren, ansonsten in Skateparks und in Regensburg, da war ich leider nicht mehr dabei, weil ich verletzt war, war es eine Einkaufspassage.
Eine Einkaufspassage?
Ja, der Skateshop war da direkt und dann haben die Absperrband gespannt und Curbs aufgestellt. Willow – Varial Heelflip Varial Heelflip in Trier
Bei was hast du dich denn verletzt?
An einem Spot in Salzburg. Der existiert schon ewig, aber alle gehen dran vorbei, weil es eigentlich Wahnsinn ist den Spot zu fahren. Man braucht viel Glück um den zu schaffen, aber ich war mir eigentlich sicher, dass ich Kickflip steh. Das ist eine elfer Treppe mit einem kleinen Grasgap dahinter und dann kommt eine ein Quadratmeter Fläche aus Beton, da wollte ich drauf landen. Danach kommt ein Downhill. Ich bin aber zu weit geolliet und wär nicht im Beton gelandet, sondern direkt im Rasen, also hab ich das Board weggetreten und wollte auslaufen. Aber der Rasen war feucht, ging bergab und dann war da eine Kuhle in die ich reingetreten bin und da hat sich mein Fuß nach hinten zerfallten. Dadurch hab ich mir alle Bänder im Mittelfuß überdehnt.
Wär das für das LRG Tourvideo gewesen oder bist du nach Where We Come From schon wieder an einem neuen Videoprojekt?
Etnies Video! 100%! Neun Monate haben wir Zeit. Da war ich vor LRG und skatedeluxe Trip jetzt schon drei Wochen auf Filmmission. Das ist in dreißig Jahren erst das zweite Etnies Video (hier das Erste) und deshalb versuch ich mein Bestes zu geben.
Der Australien Trip in zwei Wochen ist dann auch für Etnies?
Genau, erst geht’s nach Amiland, da soll ich mich aklimatisieren und zu den Berrics gehen um mich einzufahren und dann flieg ich nach Australien zum Streetskaten.
Das heißt du musst bis dahin fit werden.
Ja, ich bin jetzt halt auf Eis gelagert und der Stephan, mein Physiotherapeut, kommt jeden Abend vorbei und macht eine Lasertherapie. Die Schwellung muss weg bevor noch eine MRT kommt, um zu sehen, ob wirklich keine Bänder gerissen sind. Aber wir kriegen das hin. Willow Fuß
Ist sonst irgendwas Besonderes auf LRG-Tour passiert?
Puh. [überlegt] Burny ist was ganz Besonderes. Ein ganz ein netter, spezieller Menschenschlag. Der war immer ein positiver Pol und hat uns alle motiviert. Wenn man Burny einen Tag erlebt, weiß man wovon ich rede. Ich war zusammen mit der skatedeluxe Tour jetzt fast einen Monat mit Burny unterwegs und das schweißt schon zusammen. Er hat auch gesagt, ich bin mehr als ein Skater für ihn, ich bin jetzt einer seiner guten Homies. Und so seh ich das auch.
Wie war’s mit Niilo Nikkanen, der war ja zum ersten Mal dabei, oder?
Der ist ein stilles Wasser, aber wenn er was sagt ist es lustig. Ein, zwei Mal hab ich den sprechen hören auf Tour und dann war es immer lustig. Man muss nur in sein Gesicht schaun und wenn er grinst ist das für mich genug an Information, denn das heißt ihm geht es gut und so soll es sein.

"Ich hatte überlegt ein Bandana wie ’ne Waschfrau anzuziehen und dann drüber eine Wollmütze und vom Bandana ein Stück raushängen lassen. Gangster Style"

Wenn du jetzt verletzt Zuhause sitzt hast du ja Zeit zu werkeln. Was gibt es Neues aus der Garage?
Ich hab grad für einen Waldorf Kindergarten Puppenstühle und Puppensofas gebaut und ich hab angefangen mit Klebefolie so Alien-Muster auf meine alten Regenrinnen zu machen.
Ich hab gesehen du machst jetzt auch Kinder T-Shirts.
Ja, weil ich finde es gibt kaum coole Shirts für Kinder und ich will Sachen machen, die meinen Kindern gefallen. Willow
Was geht sonst modemäßig im Winter 2015? Ist bei dir wieder Fellmütze angesagt?
Ne, Bandana. Fell-Bandana. [lacht] Ne, ich weiß noch nicht. Ich lass mir was einfallen. Ich hatte überlegt ein Bandana wie ’ne Waschfrau anzuziehen und dann drüber eine Wollmütze und vom Bandana ein Stück raushängen lassen. Gangster Style. Vielleicht kleidet mich Nicole im Winter auch ein und ich seh ganz anders aus. Vielleicht hab ich einen Onesie an. [lacht] Weiße Schuhe, schwarzer Onesie, fettes Backprint Logo, das wär so geil. Vielleicht krieg ich ja ein Cover mit Onesie? Lass das mal machen!
Am besten du machst einen Nacktprint auf den Onesie, dass es aussieht als wärst du nackt.
Das wär megakrass. Schön mit Tattoos. Damit alle denken, krass, der skatet nackt im Winter!
Und was geht mit Willows World? Wann startet deine Youtube Show?
Das ist so ’ne Sache. Ich brauch Janosch (Pugnaghi), der muss den Kram schneiden und der ist ja jetzt noch mit eurem Untergrund Video beschäftigt. Aber ich denke, dass im Oktober die ersten Folgen kommen.
Ich bin gespannt.
Ich auch. Ihr könnt da auch mitmachen. Da komm ich mal einen Tag in der Redaktion vorbei und mach Praktikum. Komm rein wie ein Wirbelwind und bring alles durcheinander!
Auf jeden Fall!
Mehr von der LRG Tour gibt’s morgen, da geht das Tourvideo bei uns online.
Werbung
Werbung
Werbung