is loading
DE EN

Vans Park Series Malmö 2017

To be honest, we at Solo have some backlog demand regarding the transition section and we’re already happy that we’ve got the Frontside Indy thing right. Nevertheless, it’s a pleasure to follow Vans’ invitation to its Park Series. Although we barely dare ourselves into the Deepend, the spectacle brought by boys like Pedro Barros, Alex Sorgente or Grant Taylor is huge.

Werbung

It all started with the European Continental Championships of the ladies on Friday. From a German perspective, things went well with Catherine Marquis making the third place. Winner was Pole Ameli Brodka right before Frenchwoman Shani Bru.

Dsc00078

Rune Glifberg – Smith

Dscf4763

Continental Champion Rune Glifberg

Also, the boys carried out the Continental Championships where they had the chance to save themselves a place in the finals in Shanghai. Rune Glifberg used the ticket, and now, has to renew his visa. In the end, the qualifications for the Park Series on the next day were on the agenda, which Tom Schaar could decide in his favour.

On Saturday, the said Park Series as the main event was on the agenda (at this moment no one could foresee that a legendary karaoke party would take place, but that’s another story). Everything was set for a perfect airshow under the best weather and the level of skating even improved compared to the previous year as the runs of the three winners show. 

So much to the athletic part, otherwise the days in Malmö have also been eventful apart of the contest (f.e. the said karaoke party). Some had to do with beer, although the Swedish are on a pretty strict line regarding alcohol. A few bone fractures are being reported. Cody Lockwood broke his wrist at the tombstone when he tried to do a Noseblunt Nollieflip Out after the finals, while others got their arms broken by the miserable bouncer… all in all it has been good times, though. 2018 we’ll be there again, for sure. Until then we’ll try to further extend our transition skills.

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

Grey x Nike SB – Again

May 30, 2017
NXT

Daniel Ledermann Interview

May 27, 2017

is loading
DE EN

Vans Park Series Malmö 2017

Zugegeben, wir bei Solo haben Nachholbedarf im Transition-Bereich und sind schon froh, dass wir die Sache mit Frontside Indy geschnallt haben. Wenn Vans zur Park Series lädt, sind wir aber immer gerne dabei, denn auch wenn wir uns nur selten ins Deepend trauen – das Spektakel das Jungs wie Pedro Barros, Alex Sorgente oder Grant Taylor abziehen ist groß.

Los ging es bereits am Freitag mit den European Continental Championships der Ladies. Aus deutscher Sicht lief das mit Catherine Marquis auf Platz drei ziemlich gut. Gewonnen hat die Polin Ameli Brodka vor der Französin Shani Bru.

Dsc00078

Rune Glifberg – Smith

Dscf4763

Continental Champion Rune Glifberg

Auch die Boys trugen dann noch die kontinentale Meisterschaft aus, bei der man sich einen Platz für das Finale in Shanghai sichern konnte. Rune Glifberg löste das Ticket und muss jetzt sein Visum erneuern. Zum Abschluss des Tages stand dann noch die Qualifikation für die Park Series am nächsten Tag an, bei der sich Tom Schaar durchsetzte.

Samstag stand schließlich mit besagter Park Series das Hauptevent an (niemand konnte zu dem Zeitpunkt absehen, dass noch eine legendäre Karaoke Party stattfinden würde, aber das ist eine andere Geschichte). Bei bestem Wetter war alles für eine perfekte Flugshow bereitet und das Level war, verglichen mit dem Vorjahr, nochmal gestiegen, wie die Runs der drei Erstplatzierten zeigen.

Soweit der sportliche Teil, ansonsten gestalteten sich die Tage in Malmö auch abseits des Contests ereignisreich (besagte Karaoke Party zum Beispiel). Manches davon hatte mit Bier zu tun, auch wenn die Schweden in Bezug auf Alkohol eine strenge Linie fahren. Ein paar Knochenbrüche sind noch zu vermelden. Cody Lockwood etwa brach sich das Handgelenk am Tombstone, als er nach dem Finale noch Noseblunt Nollieflip Out versuchte. Andere bekamen den Arm von miesen Türstehern gebrochen… Alles in allem trotzdem good times. 2018 sind wir auf jeden Fall wieder da und versuchen bis dahin unsere Transition Skills noch weiter auszubauen.

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

Grey x Nike SB – Again

Mai 30, 2017
NXT

Homie Tape – Josh Junkes

Mai 28, 2017