is loading
DE EN

Tuk-Tuk-Safari

Mackrodt & Kliewer in Kenya

Traveling broadens one’s horizon, they say. And also: Traveling is yearning for life; the only useful cure for the acceleration of time. Skateboarders can usually tell you a thing or two about this. Especially the ones who can look back on a proper number of years of patronizing sponsorships – like Michi Mackrodt and myself. The validity of the above sentences can pretty much be deduced from our lives: me, the one who’s halfway settled, slightly grizzled – Michi, who’s four years younger, feistier, fresher, and has accumulated a bunch of frequent-flyer miles. But how is the one who is collecting all those miles supposed to get the needed decelerating elixir of life, when his horizon encompasses countless Barca trips and travels across half the globe? Exactly: he’s always taking new paths – and someday, he’ll touch down in Kenya!

Better watch your back cause you might get smoked!

On the website of the Federal Foreign Office, you can find a bunch of travel warnings for Kenya. Next to the expectable sicknesses and wild animals, the authorities also explicitly warn of terror and criminality in all its facets: fraud, carjacking, spying, violent assaults, and so on. And I have to admit: as a white, West European skater, Kenya probably feels like some Bavarian village up in the alps feels like for an African – you are the odd one out in every case!

Obviously, the country suffers from great inequalities. The difference is that, despite all the usual clichés, it’s not the white Westerner who’s exploiting the poor but rather the (newly)-rich Kenyans themselves. The isolated prosperous ghettos with their magnificent mansions and newest SUVs border right on the shack-like slums. In both cities that we scanned for spots, Mombasa and Nairobi, there was an omnipresent hustle and bustle around us, scrimmages on the sidewalks and markets, even the streets almost burst from traffic.

"We were skating an empty parking lot when, all of a sudden, we found ourselves surrounded by a bulk of club-swinging policemen."

Frowzy Tuk-tuks are chiming, rattling Matatu minivans are roaring, and fumes daub the smell of fresh fruits and vegetables, which are being sold right on the curb. There are no streetlights at night… perfect conditions for criminals of all kind, you’d think. But actually the very opposite was the case. We were greeted friendly most of the time – the skateboards we carried probably did their bit. Everyone was excited about visitors, was open-minded and interested, joked around in a laid-back atmosphere. The only unpleasant incident occurred when we encountered the supposedly good and helpful ones.

One night, we barely escaped a military police patrol with machine guns, which wanted to lure us into a shady alley under false pretense. On another afternoon, we had less luck. We were skating an empty parking lot when, all of a sudden, we found ourselves surrounded by a bulk of club-swinging policemen. Making up some accusations out of thin air, they took us to the station. While we heard cries and blows from the next den, they blatantly told us: we can pay straight away – or spend the night in jail! Well, we didn’t let them intimidate us and were free to go half an hour later – without paying a dime!

Time travel

As mentioned earlier, visual traveler and line fisher Michi chose Mombasa and Nairobi to be the most interesting when it comes to skating. The two biggest cities Kenya has are separated by 500 kilometers [310 miles, editor‘s note], but it felt like they could’ve been in totally different countries. First stop: the port city Mombasa, characterized by Arabic customs, and when it comes to architecture, it inheres a rather simple charm. Our favorite means of transportation, the Tuk-tuk, is everywhere. Skate locals: pretty much none; just on the very last day, one hyped-up dude in his oil-covered overall comes up to us. He says that he’s seen us from his car repair shop down the street. He claims to be the only skater in this city. Then he asks us for advice how to ollie higher. We quickly find out: he doesn’t have any griptape on! So he gets our last roll of Ashes and we take the closest Tuk-tuk to the main station.

"Trash collectors on miserable landfills and hailing kids from Quonsets, endless vastness of red earth and saturated green, zebras and giraffes."

A few minutes later, our driver stops at some rusty hut next to a storage siding. We look around in disbelief and, indeed, there are people selling tickets inside this Quonset hut. Yes, the night train comes twice a week. Yes, it’s the only train. Yes, railroads and train are still the English ones, colonial era… The night train was very enjoyable, second class including warm food and cold beer. Outside, you had Africa rushing by: trash collectors on miserable landfills and hailing kids from Quonsets, endless vastness of red earth and saturated green, zebras and giraffes.

The next morning, we were spat out by our time-traveling train. Nairobi: equally packed as Mombasa but more antagonisms; more poor, moor rich. A skyline in its infancy and a lot of businesses. No much-loved Tuk-tuks, just expensive cabs. Same prices that we have but only a small amount of people who can pay them. In comparison to Mombasa, a different world. For us, it was surprising to find out that the only skater from Mombasa had around 150 like-minded people here – for whom Michi rose to the position of a new skate god, the king of the local main spot: Uhuru park, mainly consisting of manual pads and flatground! The king of Hasenheide [Berlin skatepark, editor‘s note] went on a state visit – and as a hospitality gift, he ordered that all our leftover skate stuff shall be distributed equally among all locals.

The lion sleeps tonight

Without any skate stuff and after two weeks of intense spot hunting, we treated us with a real safari at the end, royal conference with the lions, so to speak. Safaris can be experienced very uncomplicated by just taking a cab in Nairobi. The national park is conveniently located right in front of the city gates. Zebras, giraffes, and antelopes. Wilderness within one’s reach. On one side, the skyline of the city and, on the other one, true vastness. The royal conference never happened though. No lion in sight. Just not feeling it? Emigrated? Suppressed? Maybe on his way to the Mediterranean Sea…? Who knows. No lion, just us in a cab going through an endless national park. The sun starts to set and what’s left is the vast horizon.

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

Books – Danny Sommerfeld "Sommer" Zine

Apr 02, 2017
NXT

AVE – Devil on Horseback

Mar 31, 2017

is loading
DE EN

Tuk-Tuk-Safari

Mackrodt & Kliewer in Kenia

Reisen erweitert den Horizont, sagt man. Und auch: Reisen ist Sehnsucht nach dem Leben; das einzig Taugliche gegen die Beschleunigung der Zeit. Skater wissen davon in den meisten Fällen ein Lied zu singen. Erst recht solche, die auf eine ordentliche Anzahl an Jahren in gönnerhaften Sponsoring-Verhältnissen zurückblicken können – wie Michi Mackrodt und ich. Die Aussagekraft obiger Sätze lässt sich im Prinzip direkt an uns ablesen: ich, der halbwegs gesettelte, leicht angegraut – Michi, der vier Jahre jüngere, quirligere und ungleich frischere mit der Vielfliegerkarte. Doch wie kommt der Vielfliegerkarteninhaber an sein entschleunigendes Lebenselixier, wenn sein Horizont schon unzählige Barca-Besuche und Reisen um den halben Erdball umfasst? Richtig: Er geht immer neue Wege – und irgendwann landet er dann in Kenia!

Better watch your back cause you might get smoked!

Auf der Internetseite des Auswärtigen Amts finden sich im Zusammenhang mit Kenia allerhand Reisewarnungen. Neben Erwartbarem, wie Krankheiten und wilden Tieren, warnt die Behörde auch ausdrücklich vor Terror und Kriminalität in all ihren Facetten: Trickbetrug, Carjacking, Ausspähungen, gewalttätige Übergriffe und vieles mehr. Und zugegeben: Als westeuropäischer, weißer Skater fühlt sich Kenia zuerst einmal an wie die bayrische Kleinstadt auf der Alm wohl für einen Afrikaner – in jedem Fall ist man die bunte Kuh! 

Ganz klar ist das Land von großer Ungleichheit geprägt. Nur anders als in vielen Klischees sind es hier nicht weiße Westler, die die Armen ausbeuten, sondern (neu-)reiche Kenianer selbst. Die abgeschotteten Reichenghettos mit Prunkvillen und den neuesten SUVs grenzen direkt an Wellblechhütten-Slums. In beiden Städten, die wir nach Spots durchkämmten, Mombasa und Nairobi, herrscht reges Treiben. Gedränge auf Gehwegen und Märkten, sogar die Straßen quellen über vor Verkehr. 

"Wir waren auf einem leeren Parkplatz skaten und plötzlich von Holzkeulen schwingenden Polizisten umzingelt."

Schedderige Tuk-Tuks tönen, scheppernde Matatu-Minivans dröhnen und Abgase übertünchen den Duft des frischen Obstes und Gemüses, das direkt am Straßenrand feilgeboten wird. Nachts fehlt die Straßenbeleuchtung… perfekte Bedingungen für Kriminelle aller Art, möchte man meinen. Doch eigentlich war eher das Gegenteil der Fall. Oft wurden wir freundlich angesprochen – die Skateboards unterm Arm trugen sicher ihren Teil dazu bei. Jeder freute sich über Besucher, war offen und interessiert, scherzte in entspannter Stimmung. Die einzigen unschönen Vorkommnisse waren tatsächlich Begegnungen mit dem vermeintlichen Freund und Helfer.

Eines Abends entgingen wir nur knapp einer Militärpolizeistreife mit Maschinengewehr, die uns unter fadenscheinigem Vorwand in eine dunkle Gasse lotsen wollte. An einem anderen Nachmittag hatten wir weniger Glück. Wir waren auf einem leeren Parkplatz skaten und plötzlich von Holzkeulen schwingenden Polizisten umzingelt. Unter völlig aus der Luft gegriffenen Anschuldigungen führte man uns auf die Wache. Während Geheul und Hiebe aus einem Verschlag nebenan drangen, hieß es auch ziemlich unverhohlen: Wir könnten gleich zahlen – oder die Nacht in der Zelle verbringen! Na ja, wir ließen uns nicht einschüchtern und waren etwa eine halbe Stunde später wieder auf freiem Fuß – ohne zu blechen!

Time travel

Wie gesagt, als zum Skaten interessant hatte Visual Traveler und Linefisher Michi Mombasa und Nairobi auserkoren. Die beiden größten Städte Kenias liegen etwa 500 km voneinander entfernt, doch hätten eigentlich auch in verschiedenen Ländern liegen können. Erste Etappe: die Hafenstadt Mombasa, arabisch geprägt und in Sachen Architektur von eher einfachem Charme. Unser Lieblingsfortbewegungsmittel, das Tuk-Tuk, ist allgegenwärtig. Skate-Locals: eigentlich Fehlanzeige; erst am letzten Tag kommt ein total gehypter Typ im ölverschmierten Blaumann auf uns zu. Er meint, er hätte uns von seiner Autowerkstatt aus gesehen. Er sei der einzige Skater der Stadt. Dann fragt er nach Tipps für bessere Ollies. Schnell wird klar: Seinem Board fehlt Griptape! Wir vermachen ihm unsere letzte Rolle Ashes und steigen ins Tuk-Tuk Richtung Hauptbahnhof.

"Müllsammler auf elenden Deponien und freudig winkende Kinder vor Blechhütten, endlose Weite mit roter Erde und sattem Grün, Zebras und Giraffen."

Wenig später hält der Fahrer an einer Wellblechhütte neben einem Abstellgleis. Ungläubig schauen wir uns um und tatsächlich, in der Wellblechhütte erkennen wir ein paar Kartenverkäufer. Ja, der Nachtzug fährt zweimal pro Woche. Ja, es ist der einzige Zug, der hier fährt. Ja, Strecke und Zug sind noch von den Engländern, Kolonialzeit… Der Nachtzug war dann sehr angenehm, 2. Klasse mit warmem Essen und kaltem Bier. Vor dem Fenster zog Afrika im Schnelldurchlauf vorbei: Müllsammler auf elenden Deponien und freudig winkende Kinder vor Blechhütten, endlose Weite mit roter Erde und sattem Grün, Zebras und Giraffen.

Am Morgen dann spuckte uns die Zeitkapsel Zug wieder aus. Nairobi: ähnlich voll wie Mombasa, aber mehr Gegensätze; mehr arm, mehr reich. Ein Ansatz von Skyline und Business. Keine geliebten Tuk-Tuks, nur teure Taxis. Preise wie bei uns, aber nur ein Teil, der sie zahlen kann. Im Vergleich zu Mombasa definitiv eine andere Welt. Für uns trotzdem etwas überraschend hatte der einzige Skater von Mombasa hier sicher 150 Gleichgesinnte – für die Michi schnell zum neuen Skate-Gott avancierte, zum König des Local Mainspots: Uhuru Park, hauptsächlich bestehend aus Manual Pads und Flat! Der König der Hasenheide kam auf Staatsbesuch – und als Gastgeschenk verfügte er am letzten Tag, allen verbliebenen Skate-Stuff unserer Reisegruppe möglichst gerecht unter den Locals zu verteilen. 

The lion sleeps tonight

Ohne Skate-Stuff und nach knapp zwei Wochen intensiver Spot-Jagd stand als Belohnung für uns noch eine richtige Safari an; Königstreffen mit den Löwen sozusagen. Safaris lassen sich von Nairobi aus herrlich unkompliziert im Taxi erleben. Der Nairobi National Park liegt praktischerweise direkt vor den Toren der Stadt. Zebras, Giraffen und Antilopen. Die Wildnis zum Greifen nah. Auf der einen Seite die Skyline der Stadt und auf der anderen wirkliche Weite. Das Königstreffen blieb dann aber aus. Kein Löwe ließ sich blicken. Kein' Bock? Ausgewandert? Oder verdrängt? Vielleicht sogar auf dem Weg Richtung Mittelmeer…? Who knows. Keine Löwen also, nur wir allein im Taxi im endlosen Nationalpark. Die Sonne senkte sich und was blieb, war weiter Horizont

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung