is loading
DE EN

Photographer Portfolio: Marcel Boer

Never not shooting on film and smiling forever.

I met Marcel aka smilefootage when I had a room for rent in 2013. Just as he moved in, I started to think about how old he might be and it turns out that he’s more than ten years younger than me. He was pretty much still wet behind his ears and tried to set up his camp in Cologne. But he grew up really fast, most likely he’s more grown up than I am myself by now, constructed the website you are reading this interview on, and found some time to teach himself the secrets of analog photography – including developing the film in his bathroom – next to skateboarding, working, and having a girlfriend.

A tremendous amount of curiosity and a quick wit are key characteristics of the maximum blonde spectacle wearer. He has become a good friend long since even though we don’t share the same apartment anymore four years later. One thing is hard to forgive, though: That he never gave me a heads up when the nude photo shoots went down at our place…

Smilefootage Essentials

Essentials, 2017

You were shooting a handrail trick today. Back in the days, you had to do it on film, nowadays, it’s kind of risky, isn’t it?

Kanya [Spani] was pretty surprised when I told him that I don’t have a digital camera. I just have to take the photo at the very precise moment and then it’s all or nothing.

Cologne 17 13

Thank you skateboarding, CGN 2017

Cologne 17 11

Bastian Selbeck, Cologne 2017

Cologne 17 14

Daniel Tefera & Friends, CGN 2017

"Back then, I thought that photography is really boring because you only have a still, while everything moves on video."

This was the first time you shot a “real” trick like this, right?

Yeah, pretty much. But now I feel like doing more of that. I don’t want to say that you can’t take good pictures of people who don’t skate on a super high level – everyone can do an ollie or a kickflip for a styleshot – but for real skate photography, you need to be with the right people. Since a few months i've been shooting more and more with some good skilled skaters. So let's see what the future will bring.

I would really like to fly somewhere as a side-pic photographer for a skilled team of a brand even if I had to pay the traveling expenses myself.

Did you never think about getting some digital cam?

Up till now, I haven’t really shot that much with a dslr. Most of the time, I was with people who were accompanied by a skate photographer with a digital camera anyways. What I don’t like is that you film and take photos at the spot, then you pack up and go to the next spot to set up everything again. I always had the impression that no one really captures all the pushing through the city kind of things. That’s why I always like to have the camera ready in between which again is why I didn’t focus on real skate-photos.

Cologne 17 06

Dom, 2017

Cologne 17 08

Ansgar & Dave, 2017

Solo Smfo Interview 13

Columbus Park, New York 2015

But you got into photography because of skateboarding.

I had a buddy who wanted to get a board sponsor and he asked me if I wanted to film him. I kept that in the back of my head and eventually bought a Canon 550D from my training salary and filmed a clip with him. Back then, I thought that photography is really boring because you only have a still, while everything moves on video.

Then I went to Barcelona one day and thought it would be pretty cool to take a photo camera with me. I caught on to the idea because there was an ad for the new Nick Garcia shoe on Etnies, which was inspired by the Canon AE-1. I read a bunch about the camera and found out that a lot of people use it to start with photography because it’s really pure. There’s nothing automatic. I ended up buying one for 75 Euros on eBay and went to Barca with four rolls of film. That wouldn’t be enough for me nowadays.

Back then, I thought a lot about whether or not I should take a photo. In comparison to the amount of film that I shoot today, a bunch of them turned out really good.

Why do you shoot more by now? Have you become addicted to photos?

Maybe a little. Probably it’s also because I can afford more film. [laughs] Or because I develop them myself and save money. It used to be 10 Euros for one film. 

Later on, I started going to dm [German drugstore, editor’s note], but that was kind of too dirty. Most of the time, I turned in four rolls and when I picked up the prints, I slipped three of the envelops in my jacket and only paid for one. I still turn rolls of colored film in, which costs around five Euros, but sooner or later, I want to do that by myself, too. Everyone says it’s so much harder than black and white, but, after all, you only have more chemicals and need to keep a constant temperature. I’ll probably get a laundry tub and a fish tank heater for that.

Cologne 17 09

Bastian Selbeck, Cologne 2017

It’s so sick that you get so nerdy about that kind of stuff.

It started last year in August when I was off work and thought about doing it myself and invested like 200 Euros in bottles, folders, negative sleeves, chemicals. I watched a couple of YouTube videos and closed my eyes till I figured out how to get the reel into the developing tank. After I developed my first film in the bathroom, I was so stoked when I saw that it worked.

So, you do it yourself in your bathroom?

Right, it has no windows. I do it in the evenings, so I don’t have to tape the door and when my roommate is home, I just give him a heads up, so he doesn’t turn on the light or goes to the bathroom. 

Solo Smfo Interview 05

Kuba Freter, BCN 2016

Isn’t it insanely time-consuming when you come home from vacation with 30 reels in your bag? 

After Barcelona, I still turned them in, but I had 37 rolls, five Euros each. And the film itself costs even more. So you’re at 400-500 Euros in a second. This means you save a lot when you do it yourself. I have a developing tank which holds three 35mm films at once or one 120mm and two 35mm. But I usually use like 3-4 black and white films along the lines, which I shoot at a similar paste, so I can develop them all together. But recently, I had like 19 rolls, which takes you five days of doing nothing else every evening. Scanning is even more time-consuming.

"There is no other way, you just have to feel it. You come home at night and start developing straight away."

I used to scan them myself, too, but most of the time one film was too much work already. But you’re feeling it.

There is no other way, you just have to feel it. You come home at night and start developing straight away. That kind of pushed me, too, because you discover all this analog stuff again and don’t have to wait, since you do it yourself. But from time to time, I wonder about it... I scanned around 200 photos of my last vacation in France and because you have to edit them, too, you invest a lot of time. It’s too easy with digital photography, though. You just point the camera at the trick, shoot a sequence, and pick the best moment afterwards. That’s not what I want. And I don’t like the digital look either. I like intensive colors, the grain, the contrasts.

Solo Smfo Interview 01

Kuba Freter - Heelfip, BCN 2016

You can’t get the same exact thing in digital.

You’d have to be crazy good at editing. I found a couple examples on Instagram. People told me that they shoot digital and get the look in post-production. They put some kind of dust filter on it. I’d rather shoot analog in the first place.

Did you ever think about doing this for a living?

It’s definitely more fun than sitting at some office job for 40 hours a week. Ideally, I’d have a part-time job as a web developer in order to have more time for it. There’s only one thing in life which really fulfills you. I thought about trying to get a job at the lab I used to develop my films at – to gather a deeper understanding. For example, I’ve never done darkroom prints. Funny enough, one of my buddies got a complete setup for Christmas. Sooner or later I’ll come around to try it out.

Solo Smfo Interview 56

Paul Sehl, Bordeaux 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 57

Paul Sehl, San Sebastian 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 12

Hossegor, France 2016

Have you ever managed to sell a photo?

I offered some on my website, but nothing has really happened. My homies bought a bunch of them. That’s the question, though, whether or not you shoot photos which work on a broader scale. Photos that every average citizen can put on his wall. Maybe I have been too focused on a certain target group. That’s why I want to exhibit something in a small gallery around the corner because most of the time, when I did a project, something new came out of it. I also feel like doing a zine again. The whole internet thing is neat and tidy, but you have to be found there, too. 

"It’s not the same with digital cams, just doing whatever works."

I have the feeling that you have gotten in contact with a bunch of people very easily because of social media. Is there some kind of community which also involves big names?

A little bit, but the big names aren’t as common. But I met Faby Reichenbach and Lucho [Vidales] at this Red Bull contest and there definitely are those kinds of coincidences. But the real networking happens on Instagram. You find someone on there, hit him up and you work something out. It’s a close group of people who always keep each other updated by writing or commenting and they basically all have a Leica.

It felt like you changed your cameras on a weekly basis.

At first, I really tried out a lot. For a long time, I shot with the AE-1 to test what kind of photos I want to do. That one broke right before I wanted to go to Barca, so I bought the AE-1 Program. Then I wanted a second camera in order to be able to get a fisheye and then I stumbled across a Nikon F3.

Then I got the Leica Minilux snapshot camera to shoot some photos at night. Afterwards, I got the idea of buying a medium format camera and I got the Mamiya really cheap on eBay. I didn’t like the Minilux anymore, because I’m not really the snapshot-kind-of-guy. When the whole analog thing got fashionable again, a bunch of people bought snapshot cams because it’s the easiest thing to do, but I never really liked that. And when the Leica came, I sold the Nikon again.

Ever since, I have been using the Leica and the Mamiya most of the time. I got a couple of friends hooked as well and they all got a AE-1. They take really good photos by now even though they were never interested in it before. This is because they really put some effort into it and think before they take a photo. It’s not the same with digital cams, just doing whatever works.

Solo Smfo Interview 14

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 27

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 15

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

"I just hauled ass down that hill, tried to focus and clicked."

Solo Smfo Interview 09

Felipe De Carvalho & Joscha Aischer, BCN 2015

To what extent do you direct your photos or do you rather look for spontaneous moments?

Both, but the spontaneous moments prevail. You can see this in the picture of Joscha Aicher in Barcelona. Where both of them are pushing on the crosswalk at the same time, with motor scooters right beside them, adding up to a perfect symmetry. I just hauled ass down that hill, tried to focus and clicked. I never thought that a photo like this would be the result. 

Sometimes I see a picture and the lighting is very good and I tell them where to push or something like this. But you need to have the right people who put up with stuff like this.

Solo Smfo Interview 11

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

What about the directions you give the chicks you photograph?

The pictures I am most happy with are the ones I had in my mind before shooting. There are plenty of pictures of girls that I started to do without having a plan, but the result is usually disillusioning. You really have to internalize photography.

How did you start doing those kind of shoots anyway?

At first, I just did it for the fun of it. I asked a friend in 2015 if she wanted to shoot some photos at the Großmarkt [marketplace in Cologne, editor’s note]. It was really cool and I wanted to do more.

And then you just started to ask: “Do you maybe want to get undressed in front of my camera?”

Most of the times, the girls are already used to taking photos. They know what to do. Many cool things happened in between the photos, meaning in between my directions. 

They seem to feel it as much as you do, judging from the Instagram accounts of some of them. Those are full of self-staging photos.

Right, and that’s something I don’t like anymore, because the girls only think about posting. I took the best photos of girls who don’t care for stuff like this at all. For the past year, I tried out what kind of things I like and realized that I only go for something when I have a tangible idea. At the beginning, I thought that I’d want to do every kind of photography that I like myself, but that’s not the case.

And on the other hand it's just cause i like girls.

Solo Smfo Interview 54

David Wollmann, CGN 2017

Julianzelmer Portrait

Julian Zelmer, BCN 2015

What kind of cameras and films you are using?

I use a Leica M6 for 35mm, the Mamiya RZ67proii for 120mm and a Nishika N8000 for some 3D pictures. Besides this I shoot some random stuff with a Polaroid camera that my girlfriend gave me for Christmas last year. Sometimes it’s awesome to have an instant picture.

Mostly, I use Ilford HP5+, Ilford Pan F+ & Kodak Trix and for colorfilm, Kodak Portra 160/400 or sometimes even a CineStill film.

Favourite camera right now?

The Mamiya, sorry Leica.

Solo Smfo Interview 08

Lucky bike shot, Cologne 2016

SMILE FOREVER

See more of Marcels work on his website.
Smilefootage on InstagramFacebookTumblr

Solo Portrait Marcelboer

Self portrait, CGN 2017

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

is loading
DE EN

Photographer Portfolio: Marcel Boer

smile for a better day

Ich lernte Marcel aka smilefootage 2013 kennen, als ich ein Zimmer zu vermieten hatte. Erst beim Einzug kam ich auf die Idee, ihn nach seinem Alter zu fragen, wobei sich herausstellte, dass er über zehn Jahre jünger ist als ich. Er kam quasi gerade frisch aus dem Ei geschlüpft und versuchte in Köln Fuß zu fassen. Schnell ist er in der Folge erwachsen geworden, möglicherweise gar erwachsener als ich es selbst bin, hat die Webseite, auf der dieses Interview zu lesen ist, erstellt und neben Skateboarding, Arbeit und Freundin noch genug Zeit gefunden, sich in kürzester Zeit die Geheimnisse analoger Fotografie beizubringen, inklusive der Entwicklung von Filmen im heimischen Badezimmer.

Ungeheuere Neugier und eine schnelle Auffassungsgabe zeichnen den maximalblonden Brillenträger eben aus. Auch wenn wir uns vier Jahre später nun nicht mehr die Wohnung teilen, ist er mir längst zu einem guten Freund geworden. Eins jedoch fällt mir schwer ihm zu verzeihen: Dass er mir nie Bescheid gegeben hat, wenn Nacktofotoshootings in unserer Wohnung stattfanden…

Smilefootage Essentials

Essentials, 2017

Du warst heute einen Handrail Stunt schießen. Früher war das ja nicht anders möglich als analog, aber heutzutage ist das schon gewagt, oder?

Kanya [Spani] war auch verwundert, als ich ihm gesagt habe, dass ich keine Digitalkamera habe. Ich muss halt im richtigen Moment schießen und dann alles oder nichts.

Cologne 17 13

Thank you skateboarding, CGN 2017

Cologne 17 11

Bastian Selbeck, Cologne 2017

Cologne 17 14

Daniel Tefera & Friends, CGN 2017

"Damals hab ich noch gedacht, wie langweilig doch Fotografie ist, weil man ja nur ein Still hat, während sich bei Video was bewegt."

Das war das erste Mal, dass du so einen „richtigen“ Trick geschossen hast, oder?

So in etwa, aber ich hab da jetzt auch mehr Bock drauf. Ich will nicht sagen, dass du keine guten Fotos machen kannst, mit Leuten die nicht mega gut Skateboard fahren – einen Ollie oder einen Kickflip für einen Styleshot kann ja fast jeder – aber für richtige Skatefotos musst du mit den richtigen Leuten unterwegs sein. In letzter Zeit häuft es sich allerdings dass ich ein paar Fotos gemacht habe, die auch direkt mit dem Hintergrund für ein Skatemag z.B. geschossen wurden.

Ich hätte auch richtig Bock mal mit nem geskillteren Team einer Brand irgendwo hinzufliegen, so als Sidepicfotograf, sogar wenn ich mir die Reisekosten selbst zahlen müsste.

Hast du dir für so Skateshots nie überlegt, eine Digi Knipse zu holen?

Bisher hab ich da ja noch nicht so viel geschossen. Meistens war ich mit Leuten unterwegs, die eh einen Skatefotografen mit digitaler Kamera dabei hatten. Was ich allerdings bemängel ist, am Spot wird gefilmt und fotografiert, danach wird die Kamera eingepackt und zum nächsten Spot gefahren und dort wieder ausgepackt. Das Ganze durch die Stadt pushen etc. hält aber keiner so richtig fest hatte ich immer den Eindruck. Ich hab die Kamera gerne dazwischen am Start und war deshalb noch nie so richtig auf Skatefotos fokussiert.

Cologne 17 06

Dom, 2017

Cologne 17 08

Ansgar & Dave, 2017

Solo Smfo Interview 13

Columbus Park, New York 2015

Du bist aber über Skateboarding zur Fotografie gekommen.

Ich hatte einen Kollegen der einen Brettsponsor gesucht hat und er hatte mich gefragt, ob ich ihn nicht filmen würde. Dann hab ich drüber nachgedacht und mir schließlich von meinem Ausbildungsgehalt eine Canon 550D gekauft und einen Clip mit ihm gefilmt. Damals hab ich noch gedacht, wie langweilig doch Fotografie ist, weil man ja nur ein Still hat, während sich bei Video was bewegt.

Dann bin ich irgendwann nach Barcelona geflogen und dachte, dafür wäre eine Fotokamera ganz geil. Ich bin da draufgekommen, weil es zu der Zeit einen Clip von Nick Garcia zu seinem Etnies Schuh gab, der inspiriert war von der Canon AE1. Dann hab ich mich über die Kamera informiert und festgestellt, dass viele die als Einsteigerkamera benutzen, weil das halt pure Fotografie ist, da ist nichts automatisch. Ich hab die schließlich für 75 Euro auf Ebay gekauft und bin mit vier Filmen nach Barca. Da würde ich heute nicht mehr mit auskommen.

Damals hab ich noch viel mehr überlegt, ob ich ein Foto mache. In Relation zu den Fotos die ich heute verschieße, sind dafür aber auch ein paar mehr Fotos gut geworden.

Warum schießt du heute so viel mehr? Bist du süchtiger nach Fotos geworden?

Schon ein bisschen. Vielleicht ist es auch, weil ich mir mittlerweile mehr Filme leisten kann. [lacht] Oder weil ich jetzt selber entwickle und dadurch Geld spare. Früher hat das ja 10 Euro pro Film gekostet.

Später war ich bei dm, aber das war mir dann auch zu dirty. Meistens hab ich es so gemacht, dass wenn ich vier Filme abgegeben, ich mir drei davon beim abholen in die Jackentasche gesteckt und nur einen bezahlt habe. Farbfilme lass ich jetzt immer noch in einem Labor entwickeln, das kostet so fünf Euro pro Film, aber das will ich demnächst auch selbst machen. Es heißt zwar, das ist schwieriger als schwarz-weiß, aber du hast am Ende auch nur ein bisschen mehr Chemie und musst die Temperatur konstant auf einer bestimmten Gradzahl halten. Ich hol mir dafür wahrscheinlich eine Wäschewanne und eine Aquariumheizung.

Cologne 17 09

Bastian Selbeck, Cologne 2017

Ich finde das geil, dass du dich da so richtig reingenerdet hast.

Das war als ich letztes Jahr im August frei hatte und da hab ich überlegt das selbst zu machen und hab dann 200 Euro investiert, für Flaschen, Ordner, Negativhüllen, Chemie. Ich hab mir ein paar YouTube Videos angeschaut, mich mit Augen zu in mein Zimmer gestellt, bis ich es raus hatte, wie man den Film in die Entwicklerdose dreht und dann hab ich im Bad den ersten Film entwickelt und fand es total geil, dass es geklappt hat.

Du machst das also im Bad?

Genau, das ist ja ohne Fenster. Ich mach das abends, dann muss ich die Tür nicht abkleben und wenn mein Mitbewohner da ist, sag ich ihm kurz Bescheid, dass er im Flur kein Licht anmacht oder ins Bad kommt.

Solo Smfo Interview 05

Kuba Freter, BCN 2016

Ist das nicht ein wahnsinniger zeitlicher Aufwand, wenn du mit 30 Filmen aus dem Urlaub kommst?

Nach Barcelona hab ich noch abgegeben, aber das waren 37 Filme mal fünf Euro. Und die Filme an sich kosten ja sogar noch mehr. Da bist du dann insgesamt schnell auf 400-500 Euro. Da spart man schon eine Menge, wenn man das selbst macht. Ich hab jetzt eine Entwicklerdose, wo man drei 35mm Filme auf einmal reinmachen kann. Oder ein 120mm und zwei 35mm. Ich hab dann auch meine 3-4 gängigen schwarz-weiß Filme, die ich ungefähr gleich viel verschieße, damit ich die zusammen entwickeln kann. Aber neulich hatte ich 19 Filme, da brauchst du fünf Tage und da machst du abends auch nix anderes. Das Scannen ist ja auch eigentlich der aufwändigere Part.

"Du musst Bock drauf haben. Dann kommst du abends nach Hause und entwickelst direkt."

Ich hab auch mal ein bisschen selbst gescannt, aber mir war ein Film meist schon zu viel Arbeit. Aber du hast da Bock drauf.

Anders geht es auch nicht, du musst Bock drauf haben. Dann kommst du abends nach Hause und entwickelst direkt. Das hat mich auch angetrieben, denn da entdeckst du den analogen Kram nochmal neu und musst nicht erst warten, sondern kannst das selbst machen. Aber manchmal stellt sich schon die Frage… Aus dem letzten Frankreich Urlaub hab ich 200 Bilder eingescannt und die muss man dann alle noch bearbeiten und da investiert man in ein Foto viel Zeit. Bei der digitalen Knipserei ist das halt zu leicht. Da hältst du bei einem Trick einfach drauf, verballerst eine Sequenz und suchst dir am Ende den besten Moment aus, aber das ist es nicht für mich. Und außerdem mag ich digital vom Look her auch nicht. Ich mag die intensiveren Farben, die Körnung, die Kontraste.

Solo Smfo Interview 01

Kuba Freter - Heelfip, BCN 2016

Das kriegt man digital nicht so hin.

Da musst du schon echt fit in Bildbearbeitung sein. Ein paar davon hab ich auf Instagram entdeckt, wo mir dann Leute erzählt haben, dass die digital schießen und den Look nachher bearbeiten. Die schieben irgendwelche Staub Filter drüber, aber dann schieß ich es lieber gleich analog.

Hast du je überlegt, das beruflich zu machen?

Es macht schon mehr Bock als ein 40 Stunden Job im Büro. Am liebsten wär mir ein Teilzeit Job als Web-Entwickler damit ich nebenbei mehr Zeit dafür habe. Man brennt halt nur für eine Sache so richtig im Leben. Ich hatte auch mal überlegt, ob ich in dem Labor, in dem ich entwickeln lasse, einen Nebenjob haben könnte, um mehr in die Materie rein zu kommen. Ich hab ja auch noch nie Darkroom Prints gemacht. Witzigerweise hat ein Kumpel zu Weihnachten eine komplette Ausrichtung geschenkt bekommen. Da wollte ich demnächst vorbeikommen und das mit ihm mal ausprobieren.

Solo Smfo Interview 56

Paul Sehl, Bordeaux 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 57

Paul Sehl, San Sebastian 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 12

Hossegor, France 2016

Hast du denn schon Fotos verkauft?

Ich hab welche auf der Webseite angeboten, aber da ging bisher noch nicht so viel. Meine Homies haben aber schon ein Dutzend gekauft. Es ist halt auch die Frage, ob man Fotos schießt, die allgemein funktionieren. Welche die sich jeder Otto Normalbürger ins Wohnzimmer hängen kann. Vielleicht war ich da bisher zu sehr auf eine bestimmte Zielgruppe bezogen. Deshalb würde ich demnächst auch gerne mal bei einer Galerie hier um die Ecke eine kleine Ausstellung machen, denn meistens, wenn ich irgendwas gemacht habe, ist irgendwas Anderes daraus entstanden. Ich hätte auch mal Bock ein Zine zu machen. Das ganze Internet Zeug ist ja schön und gut, aber da muss man mich auch erst mal finden.

"Das ist nicht so wie mit einer digitalen Knipse, einfach draufhalten."

Ich hab das Gefühl, dass du über soziale Medien relativ schnell mit Leuten in Kontakt gekommen bist. Dass es da eine vernetzte Community gibt, in der auch größere Namen drinstecken.

Schon ein bisschen, wobei die größeren Namen jetzt nicht so häufig antworten. Aber Faby Reichenbach und Lucho [Vidales] hab ich bei diesem Red Bull Contest kennengelernt und das sind manchmal einfach so Zufälle. Aber an sich entsteht diese Vernetzung nur durch Instagram. Da siehst du Jemanden, schreibst den an und dann ergibt sich das. Das ist echt so eine kleine Gruppe an Leuten, die auch dauerhaft untereinander schreiben und kommentieren und eigentlich haben die alle auch eine Leica am Start.

Gefühlt haben deine Kameras ja wöchentlich gewechselt.

Am Anfang hab ich eben rumprobiert. Mit der AE-1 hab ich relativ lange geschossen um zu testen, was ich überhaupt für Fotos machen möchte. Die hatte dann einen mechanischen Schaden kurz bevor ich nach Barca wollte und hab mir dann die AE-1 Programm gekauft. Dann wollte ich eine zweite Kamera, um auch ein Weitwinkel Objektiv zu haben und hab dann durch Zufall bei einer Fotografie Studentin eine Nikon F3 gefunden.

Dann hab ich mir eine Leica Minilux Snapshot Kamera für so ein paar Spaßfotos am Abend gekauft. Danach kam der Gedanke mit der Mittelformat Kamera und ich hab die Mamiya auf Ebay günstig bekommen. Die Minilux hat mir dann nicht mehr so gefallen, weil ich nicht so der Schnappschuss Typ bin. Als das Analoge wieder in Mode kam, haben sich viele Snapshot Cams gekauft, weil das am einfachsten geht, aber ich mochte das nie so. Und als dann die Leica kam, hab ich die Nikon wieder verkauft.

Seitdem benutze ich die Leica & die Mamiya am meisten. Ich hab ein paar meiner Freunde jetzt auch angefixt und die haben sich auch eine AE-1 gekauft und machen mittlerweile echt schon gute Fotos, obwohl die bisher noch nix mit Fotografie zu tun hatten. Aber weil die eben auch Arbeit da reinstecken und überlegen, bevor die ein Foto machen. Das ist nicht so wie mit einer digitalen Knipse, einfach draufhalten.

Solo Smfo Interview 14

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 27

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

Solo Smfo Interview 15

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

"Ich bin da voller Adrenalin den Berg runter gepusht, bei rot über die Kreuzung, ich hab einfach versucht scharf zu stellen und hab abgedrückt."

Solo Smfo Interview 09

Felipe De Carvalho & Joscha Aischer, BCN 2015

Wie sehr inszenierst du deine Fotos denn oder suchst du lieber spontane Momente?

Beides, aber die Momentaufnahmen sind auf jeden Fall überwiegender. So wie damals das Bild mit Joscha Aicher in Barcelona. Wo beide auf dem Zebrastreifen im gleichen Moment pushen, mit den beiden Rollern daneben, wo eine perfekte Symmetrie bestand. Ich bin da voller Adrenalin den Berg runter gepusht, bei rot über die Kreuzung, ich hab einfach versucht scharf zu stellen und hab abgedrückt. Ich hätte niemals gedacht, dass so ein Foto dabei rumkommt.

Manchmal seh ich aber auch ein Bild und die Lichtstimmung passt und dann sag ich, push doch hier mal lang. Da brauchst du eben auch Leute die das mitmachen.

Solo Smfo Interview 11

Paul Sehl, Biarritz 2016

Wie ist das mit den Regieanweisungen bei den Fotos die du mit Mädels machst?

Die Fotos mit denen ich nachher am meisten zufrieden bin, sind die, die schon vorher im Kopf hatte. Es gibt auch viele Fotos mit Mädels, wo ich planlos an die Sache rangehe und wo am Ende das Ergebnis auch ziemlich ernüchternd ist. Man muss in diese Fotografie auch erst mal reinkommen.

Wie bist du da überhaupt reingekommen?

Ich hab das einfach mal so aus Spaß mit einer Freundin gemacht, da hab ich ihr 2015 vorgeschlagen abends am Großmarkt Fotos zu machen und da hab ich dann Bock bekommen.

Und dann hast du rumgefragt, „Hast du nicht Bock, dich vor meiner Kamera auszuziehen?“

Meistens waren das Mädels, die schon Fotos gemacht hatten, weil die dann auch mehr wissen was sie machen müssen. Viele Sachen sind auch zwischen den Fotos passiert, also genau zwischen meinen Anweisungen.

Die scheinen auch richtig Bock zu haben. Wenn man sich aber auch manche Instagram Accounts anschaut, dann sind die ja voll mit solchen Bildern, wo sie sich selbst inszenieren.

Genau, da hab ich dann eigentlich auch keinen Bock mehr drauf, weil es den Mädels im Kopf nur ums Posten geht. Die besten Fotos hab ich mit Mädels gemacht, die auf sowas gar nicht aus sind. Ich hab das halt letztes Jahr für mich ein wenig ausgetestet, aber hab jetzt gemerkt, ich mach das nur noch, wenn ich auch wirklich eine Idee habe. Ich dachte am Anfang, dass ich jede Art von Fotos die ich gut finde auch selber schießen möchte, aber das ist nicht so.

Solo Smfo Interview 54

David Wollmann, CGN 2017

Julianzelmer Portrait

Julian Zelmer, BCN 2015

Was benutzt du momentan für Kameras & Filme?

Eine Leica M6 für 35mm, die Mamiya RZ67proii für 120mm und dann noch die Nishika N8000 seit neustem für so ein paar Spass 3D Fotos. Außerdem noch eine Polariod Kamera, ist auch manchmal ganz cool so ein Direktfoto zu haben.

Bei den Filmen sind es am meisten Ilford HP5+, Ilford Pan F+ , Kodak Trix und für Farbe Kodak Portra 160/400 oder auch mal einen CineStill Film.

Lieblingskamera?

Momentan die Mamiya, sorry Leica.

Solo Smfo Interview 08

Lucky bike shot, Cologne 2016

SMILE FOREVER

Mehr von Marcel gibt es auf seiner Webseite.
Oder auf seinen social media Kanälen: InstagramFacebook, Tumblr

Solo Portrait Marcelboer

Self portrait, CGN 2017

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung