is loading
DE EN

Own Skateboards

Made In Germany

They can do anything in Baden-Württemberg”, a slogan of the state located in the southwest of Germany promises, “except speaking Standard German.” Although we lack the ambition to completely verify this claim, this allrounder mentality is totally spot-on regarding Own. As the name already implicates, everything is DIY – even or rather especially the boards. They are manufactured by hand at a small carpentry in the tranquil city of Nürtingen (next to Stuttgart) by Own founder Philipp Günther together with the rest of his team. Reaching a huge amount of output figures is pretty much impossible, for obvious reasons. Their video output, however, is in fact huge in comparison and can be seen in various “Tagesschau”-clips as well as their new video “Made in Germany”. It has been a long way that took about 15 years to get to. But over the course of time, something special, which goes far beyond a regular board company, has ripened in the vicinity of Stuttgart. A bit of stubbornness and the tendency to take an unduly independent line, two traits Swabians are accused of as well, probably added their part to the unique concept. As for Philipp, we can say that he has a clear vision of what Own is supposed and not supposed to be and that he sees skateboarding in a cultural context most of all. Whatever comes out of his mouth is no simple platitude

Phil, how many people are on the team by now?

Glenn Michelfelder, Robin Wulf, and Andi Welther are three of the guys that are more known to the public. To say that they’re pro would be kind of stupid because defining the status “pro” in Germany is tough – we can’t pay them obviously. Then there are Stjepan [Lovric], Denis Nitsche, Sheehan Kneeland, Zlati [Kevin Spina], and the newest member Tim Rebensdorf. There might have been some partings, but after all I’ve never kicked anyone off. Daniel Mertin, a transition veteran from Reutlingen, as well as Sebo, Stefan Thomann, and Michael Kempf are still with us, too. Not forgetting my dad. He is pretty much the most important person, who has always put up with our shit and helped out wherever he could.

That means a lot of work only to provide the whole team with boards. How many do you produce per month?

Between 15 and 20.

How did you start making your own boards?

It was basically my final project as a wood technician. At that point, I never heard of anyone who was really successful in doing so and I couldn’t call anywhere to ask for advice. Later on I had one board and went up to Klaus-Peter Grüb from the Skatebox, he smacked the tail on the ground once and when he heard the sound, he saiDick: “This is a skateboard.”

So it worked straight away with the first board you made?

Of course you learn and change a lot over the course of 15 years, but we had some CNC milled shapes and experts around us like Alf Speidel, who sadly passed away, who was the absolute specialist regarding CAD. And we have Benni Müller, who is a product designer. Drawing a skateboard is not as easy as it sounds since they are bent in every direction.

Glenn Michelfelder No Comply Kic Kflip Hr Reichenbach Frp 82

Glenn Michelfelder - No-Comply Kickflip | Foto: Faby Reichenbach

Are self-made boards better than industrial ones?

Our production processes are not too different from industrial ones. They just have more people working at multiple presses simultaneously.

You’ve treated it more as a hobby from the beginning, right?

Rather, I see my real job as my hobby because it allows me to do this thing here with Own. I don’t really care about the money in the first place, it’s more about the culture.

Can you elaborate on this a little bit?

It starts with me growing up in the punk scene. Political things have always been important to me. This goes along with a certain refusal of compliance. This is what skateboarding was all about for me back then. It was the sport that allowed you to separate yourself from others. Whether this has changed by now is something everyone has to decide for themselves.

Andi Kfbsnb01

Andi Welther – Kickflip Backside Noseblunt | Seq: Thomas Gentsch

You screen print the boards yourself as well – who does the graphics?

That’s not so easy, because I have certain ideas about it. This applies to the whole process though. The appearance in the media, the videos, the graphics – all this is supposed to work hand in hand. But of course you can’t contrive this all on your own. That’s where people like Julian Häcker and Hein aka Aktion4All come into play.

Did you ever think about growth and having the boards made in wood shops?

No, never. This might sound a little bit boastful, but there are none that could compete. That’s hokey though, of course there is a professor Schmitt who makes sick boards for sure, but his factory happens to be in Tijuana. The skateboard is a product that is produced in low-wage countries. This is, for example, a thing that really bugs me. But I don’t want to go on a rant about other people, because not everyone is in the position we got ourselves into and also because it’s always sick when people become active.

"Es ist ja auch irgendwie ein deutsches Ding, dass es noch keine Company aus Deutschland so richtig geschafft hat."

How do you work as a collective?

Well, regarding the videos, it started with me buying a VX back then and starting to film a lot. So of course I sat next to Hein, while he was editing, to get my ideas involved as well. We developed a pretty good cooperation. Those guys aren’t being paid either, they just do it because they want to and I can’t act like some dictator since they’ll lose their drive otherwise. And it would be wrong because this way pretty insanely cool things emerge. Hein, who got super deep into editing and almost became some kind of luminary, is a great example for this. I see myself somewhat as a bandleader, who just tries to push the right buttons.

How did it come about that Own got so much attention lately?

That’s just what I’m asking myself a lot, too. I think that it’s connected to the general development. All of a sudden you were able to produce videos autonomously and weren’t dependent on knowing a certain filmer in order to appear in relevant media. At one point we just took this matter into our own hands. And then there’s Robin, who we should mention for sure. At one point I asked him: “Why aren’t you riding for us?” And he answereDick: “Because you didn’t ask me.” So I asked.

Robin 1 Fsbs Fliphaecker

Robin Wulf - Frontside Flip | Foto: Julian Häcker

You also discovered Glenn and Lem Villemin.

Martin Grüb entrusted me with Glenn, but then Andi came along with Popular and snatched him from me. [laughs] Then I saw Lem at a contest, where he was kickflipping off of everything, and told him: “You ride for me now.” He was snatched again by Titus. I was still wet behind my ears and had no idea of how the skate business really works. But the whole situation has turned upside down again and Glenn is back with us.

Lem also doesn’t have a board sponsor at the moment…

Exactly, we’re working on that. [laughs] That’s probably utopian, but I have been pestering him to hit the streets with us some time.

It kind of feels like Own is not just a company but more like a really close group of friends.

Exactly. Especially Andi, who has pretty much gone through every side of the business, is insanely happy that he’s with us and able to have some influence. The whole DIY thing gives back a lot. It’s more than just opening boxes.

The guys even produce their boards themselves.

They just work with us. Arrange the wood sheets, saw them down, press them, glue them, cut them out… A lot of people don’t realize what it means to make a board. They should though, maybe they’d stop throwing it around all the time.

"Auf der einen Seite will Skateboarding gerade gefallen, will in der Vogue sein, will olympisch sein, wird diktiert von den großen Schuhbrands und, sorry, da sehe ich Own als ein essenzielles Ding. Wenn ich da nicht weitermach, dann tschüss."

Was it at some point a conscious decision to keep Own small in order to protect it?

Besides barely being able to make money off of making boards at all, it’s hopeless in the way we produce them. Of course it’s part of the game that if you make boards, you want them to be in some shops. That’s why they will be available at Arrow & Beast sooner or later. That could expand step by step to let’s say SHRN, Civilist, Lobby, etc. I don’t want to be in random shops. The Welthers’ [Andi and his brother Christian, editor’s note] experience comes in really handy when it comes to things like this.

What else would you like to do with Own?

It would be amazing to expand the production, for example, together with refugees, just to give them a job, even if it seems impossible in regards to the organizational aspects. Something like an adidas x Palace collab would be sweet, too.

You mean cooperating with adidas?

Let it be adidas or Hugo Boss or whatever, just something where you can tell the crew that they can quit their jobs because they are cashed out for the next five years, but that’s utopian. Probably we’d do it, but I would never say that I have to be able to live off of it. Then it would be a different struggle and maybe the joy would get lost. I’m not really a fan of collabs, haven’t done any yet, too, but when the result is good… But don’t get me wrong, that’s not our goal. I think that they need us more than we need them. But when you let someone in who spends a lot of money, you might reach a wider range of people, but at the same time it’s not your own thing anymore. I could see how this happened to Aveal, which a couple of friends started in their garage. They got bigger and bigger and at one point they were totally alienated. Then other people took over and I always knew that this is something that won’t happen to me.

Stjepan Lovric - 50-50 | Photo: Julian Häcker

Stjepan Rail

Stjepan Lovric - 50-50 | Photo: Julian Häcker

Do you have any local references since your video is named “Made in Germany”?

Nah, I see myself as cosmopolitan. “Made in Germany” originates from people not knowing that we make the boards ourselves.

There’s nothing characteristically Swabian in Own?

No, unless the refusal of compliance is something Swabian. I think regional references are awful. We rather look at how people in England or France are doing it.

Is that something you guys talk about, this field of tension between authenticity and the potential growth?

Not really. I never understood this whole thing about growth anyways. That’s one of the problems of our time. Everyone can make a board company. Everyone can just order boards. You just slap some graphic together, send it somewhere, and get the boards. This way every city has five companies and every shop produces its own line. This way the big board companies start to get into dire straits. That’s a problem to some extent. And we’re back at talking about culture. The factor of realness is really important to me und when it comes to growth, it’s important to us that we work with fairly produced products and short delivery channels, also concerning textiles.

Robin Wulf Feeblegrind Stuttgart1Gentsch

Robin Wulf – Feeble Grind | Photo: Thomas Gentsch

Lately a lot of small manufactures and craftsman traditions started to blossom again. Do you get more attention because of that?

No, but that’s mainly my fault, because I don’t peddle it around. I’m not the top networker either. When I went to the Bright Tradeshow, I was blown away because so many guys, for example the Lovenskate guys from England, knew who we were. I was also blown away by my last visit to the Lobby shop in Hamburg and that the guy running it also heard of Own and the new video. But you need to be stubborn in order to keep it your own thing and I’m really glad to not have done a lot of things. It’s kind of a German thing, too, that no company from Germany has made it elsewhere. We’ll just see how far the road will take us.

If you could choose, where would it take you?

I think it would be really sick to be perceived as a cool company in the rest of the world. But things never turn out the way you expected. You have to work on it consistently and don’t rest on things you’ve achieved. And that’s kind of Swabian again. [laughs] I just have to go out and film, otherwise there’d be something missing. And it’s priceless when people like Torsten Frank pay attention to every second of the video premiere and approach you in excitement afterwards. On the one side, skateboarding is trying to be suitable for the masses, wants to be in Vogue, wants to be Olympic, is being dictated by big footwear companies – sorry, but I think in times like these projects like Own are an essential thing. If I don’t stick to it, see ya. If I tell people this, they think I’m crazy, but that’s the way I see it.

But you have to be careful that Own won’t grow too much and you have to make boards day and night.

Nah, no way – getting a board will stay a very exclusive thing. Someone once told me that it’s harder to get an Own board than one from Supreme. [laughs] The brand gets bigger, but I don’t think that it will bring up the board sales. Jürgen Blümlein from the skateboard museum went to Russia with Lem and Mark Gonzales. And when Gonz saw Jürgen’s board in the trunk of their car and askeDick: “Whose board is this?” – then that’s another sweet moment. It’s being appreciated. I mean look at Robin’s Board – it was pretty much the board of the year. Orange, bam! There wasn’t one that could’ve kept up with it.

Sheehan Half Cap Farberoth

Sheehan Kneeland – Halfcab | Photo: Lars Roth

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

is loading
DE EN

Own Skateboards

Made In Germany

Alles könnten sie in Baden-Württemberg, verspricht der das Bundesland im Südwesten bewerbende Slogan, außer Hochdeutsch. Um diese Behauptung in Gänze zu verifizieren, fehlt uns der Ehrgeiz, im Falle von Own, so viel können wir aber zumindest sagen, trifft dieses Alleskönnertum auf jeden Fall zu, denn dort wird, wie der Name schon andeutet, wirklich alles selbstgemacht – sogar bzw. vor allem die Boards. Die werden in einer Schreinerwerkstatt im beschaulichen Nürtingen (genau, dem Heimatort von Harald Schmidt) von Own-Gründer Philipp Günther, zusammen mit dem Rest des Teams, handgefertigt. Dass auf diese Art keine riesigen Produktionszahlen erreicht werden, dürfte klar sein. Der Output, den das Team dagegen auf Film bannt, ist immens und in diversen Tagesschau-Clips sowie ihrem neuen Video „Made in Germany“ dokumentiert. Es war ein langer Weg, 15 Jahre hat es bis hierhin gedauert, aber über die Zeit ist da was herangereift im Ländle, was weit über eine 08/15-Boardcompany hinausgeht. Daran wohl nicht unbeteiligt sind ein gewisser Starrsinn und Eigenbrötlerei, welche den Schwaben ja ebenfalls nachgesagt werden. Philipp hat jedenfalls eine ganz klare Vorstellung davon, wie Own sein bzw. nicht sein sollte, und denkt Skateboarding in erster Linie im Kulturkontext. Keine hohle Phrase, wenn es aus seinem Mund kommt.

Phil, wie viele Teamfahrer habt ihr jetzt?

Glenn Michelfelder, Robin Wulf und Andi Welther sind die drei bekannteren Namen. Pro zu sagen wär irgendwie blöd, da die Definition von Pro in Deutschland schwierig ist – bezahlen können wir sie natürlich nicht. Dann gibt’s noch Stjepan [Lovric], Denis Nitsche, Sheehan Kneeland, Zlati [Kevin Spina] und als neusten Tim Rebensdorf. Es haben sich vielleicht mal Wege getrennt, aber ich hab auch nie einen rausgeschmissen. Daniel Mertin, ein Reutlinger Rampen-Urgestein, als auch Sebo, Stefan Thomann und Michael Kempf gehören deshalb auch immer noch dazu. Und meinen Vater darf man nicht vergessen. Das ist eigentlich die wichtigste Person, der immer wieder den ganzen Kokolores mitgemacht und uns geholfen hat.

Da musst du ja gut ackern, um das Team mit Brettern zu versorgen. Wie viele Boards produziert ihr pro Monat?

Zwischen 15 und 20 Stück.

Wie hat das mit dem Bretter Selbermachen angefangen?

Das war 2002 meine Abschlussarbeit als Holztechniker. Zu der Zeit hatte ich aber noch nie gehört, dass das hingehauen hätte, Boards selbst zu machen, und ich konnte nicht einfach irgendwo anrufen und fragen, wie das geht. Irgendwann hatte ich dann das Brett und bin zum Klaus-Peter Grüb von der Skatebox gegangen, der hat das einmal mit dem Tail auf den Boden gehauen, hat sich das Knallen angehört und meinte: „Das ist ein Skateboard.“

Es hat also gleich mit dem ersten Board funktioniert?

In den 15 Jahren hat man natürlich viel dazugelernt und verändert, aber wir hatten auch CNC-gefräste Formen und Experten im Umfeld, wie den leider mittlerweile verstorbenen Alf Speidel, der absoluter Spezialist war, was CAD angeht, und wir haben Benni Müller, der Produktdesigner ist. Denn Skateboards zeichnen ist nicht so leicht, wie es sich anhört, dadurch dass sie in jede Richtung gebogen sind.

Glenn Michelfelder No Comply Kic Kflip Hr Reichenbach Frp 82

Glenn Michelfelder - No-Comply Kickflip | Foto: Faby Reichenbach

Sind denn die selbst gemachten Boards besser als die industriell gefertigten?

Vom Fertigungsverfahren sind wir nicht weg vom industriellen. Nur dass da viele Leute an mehreren Pressen gleichzeitig arbeiten.

Du hast das Ganze von Anfang an ja mehr als Hobby betrachtet.

Mein Hobby ist eher arbeiten, damit das Ding hier funktionieren kann. Mir geht es dabei aber nicht primär ums Geld, sondern um die Kultur.

Kannst du das genauer beschreiben?

Es fängt damit an, dass ich eine Punk-Vergangenheit habe. Politische Sachen waren mir schon immer wichtig. Das geht mit einer gewissen Verweigerungshaltung einher. Dafür stand für mich damals auch Skateboarding. Das war der Sport, mit dem man sich separieren konnte. Ob wir da mittlerweile woanders angekommen sind, das mag jeder für sich entscheiden.


Andi Kfbsnb01

Andi Welther – Kickflip Backside Noseblunt | Seq: Thomas Gentsch


Gab es denn jemals die Überlegung, zu wachsen und Boards in Woodshops fertigen zu lassen?

Ne, nie. Das mag sich etwas überheblich anhören, aber es gibt keine anderen, die mithalten können. Ist natürlich Quatsch, natürlich gibt’s einen Professor Schmitt, der sicher Wahnsinns-Bretter macht, aber seine Fabrik steht halt auch in Tijuana. Das Skateboard ist leider ein Produkt, das in Billiglohnländern produziert wird. Das ist auch ein Punkt, der mich stört. Aber ich will gar nicht auf anderen rumhacken, weil nicht jeder in der Position sein kann, die wir uns geschaffen haben, und es immer geil ist, wenn jemand was macht.

Ihr siebdruckt die Bretter ja auch selbst. Wer macht bei euch eigentlich die Grafiken?

Das ist nicht ganz so einfach, weil ich schon gewisse Vorstellungen habe. Das bezieht sich aber auf den gesamten Prozess. Den Medienauftritt, die Videos, die Grafiken – das soll alles Hand in Hand gehen. Aber natürlich lässt sich so was nicht alleine bewerkstelligen. Da kommen dann Leute wie Julian Häcker und Hein aka Aktion4All mit ins Spiel.

"Es ist ja auch irgendwie ein deutsches Ding, dass es noch keine Company aus Deutschland so richtig geschafft hat."

Wie funktioniert ihr denn als Kollektiv?

Also was jetzt Videos angeht… Es ging ja damit los, dass ich damals die VX gekauft und  viel gefilmt habe. Dadurch bin ich dann natürlich auch beim Schneiden neben dem Hein gehockt und hab mich eingebracht. Wir haben ein ganz gutes Miteinander entwickelt. Die Jungs werden ja auch nicht bezahlt, sondern machen das, weil sie Bock drauf haben, und dann kann ich nicht den Diktator machen, sonst verlieren sie die Lust. Und es wäre auch falsch, denn es entstehen dadurch wahnsinnig coole Sachen. Hein ist ein ganz tolles Beispiel, der sich in den Videoschnitt so reingefuchst hat, dass er da mittlerweile eine Koryphäe ist. Ich seh mich da eher als Bandleader, der immer versucht die richtigen Knöpfe zu drücken.

Wie kam es eigentlich, dass Own in letzter Zeit so viel mehr Aufmerksamkeit bekommen hat?

Die Frage stelle ich mir auch häufig. Ich glaube, das hat viel mit einer allgemeinen Entwicklung zu tun. Man konnte plötzlich Videos selber machen und war nicht drauf angewiesen, dass man irgendwelche Filmer kannte, um dann irgendwo aufzutauchen. Irgendwann haben wir das selbst in die Hand genommen. Dann ist da auch noch Robin, den man an der Stelle nicht vergessen darf. Irgendwann hab ich ihn gefragt: „Warum fährst du eigentlich nicht für uns?“ Und er hat nur geantwortet: „Weil du nicht fragst.“ Also hab ich ihn gefragt.

Robin 1 Fsbs Fliphaecker

Robin Wulf - Frontside Flip | Foto: Julian Häcker

Du hast ja auch Glenn und Lem Villemin entdeckt.

Glenn hat mir der Martin Grüb ans Herz gelegt, dann kam allerdings Andi mit Popular und hat ihn mir weggeschnappt. [lacht] Dann hab ich auf einem Contest Lem gesehen, der Kickflips von überall runter gemacht hat, und hab gesagt: „Du fährst jetzt für mich.“ Der wurde mir dann von Titus weggeschnappt. Ich war damals ja völlig grün hinter den Ohren und hatte keine Ahnung vom Skatebusiness. Aber die ganze Geschichte hat sich in den letzten Jahren wieder umgedreht und Glenn ist wieder bei uns.

Lem hat ja gerade auch keinen Boardsponsor…

Genau, wir arbeiten dran. [lacht] Das ist wahrscheinlich utopisch, aber ich hänge ihm sehr in den Ohren, dass er mal mit uns loszieht.

Man hat das Gefühl, Own ist nicht nur eine Company, sondern ein ganz enger Freundeskreis.

Genau. Auch Andi, der so ziemlich durch jede Facette des Geschäfts durchgegangen ist, ist wahnsinnig froh, dass er mit uns am Start ist und Einfluss haben kann. Dieses Selbermachen gibt dir schon viel zurück. Das ist was anders, als einfach nur Pakete aufmachen.

Die Jungs machen ja teilweise auch ihre Bretter selbst.

Die arbeiten einfach mit. Holzsheets herrichten, zusägen, zusammenfügen, verleimen, ausschneiden… Viele wissen gar nicht, was es bedeutet, ein Board zu machen. Die sollten das aber mal wissen, dann würden sie es nicht so rumschmeißen.

"Auf der einen Seite will Skateboarding gerade gefallen, will in der Vogue sein, will olympisch sein, wird diktiert von den großen Schuhbrands und, sorry, da sehe ich Own als ein essenzielles Ding. Wenn ich da nicht weitermach, dann tschüss."

Hast du Own eigentlich je absichtlich klein gehalten, um es zu schützen?

Abgesehen davon, dass man da allgemein kaum Geld mit verdient, ist es hier absolut aussichtslos, so wie wir Boards produzieren. Natürlich gehört das dazu, dass wenn du Boards machst, die auch im Laden sind. Deshalb werden die jetzt auch über kurz oder lang im Arrow & Beast sein. Das könnte sich dann Stück für Stück ausweiten, z. B. SHRN, Civilist, Lobby etc. Ich will aber nicht in irgendwelche Shops. Da kommen auch die Erfahrungswerte der Welthers [Andi und sein Bruder Christian, Anm. d. Red.] hinzu.

Was würdest du denn sonst noch gerne mit Own machen?

Für mich wäre es super, die Produktion auszubauen, z.B. zusammen mit Flüchtlingen, um denen Arbeit zu geben, auch wenn das organisatorisch wohl nicht leistbar ist. So was wie eine adidas x Palace Kollabo fänd ich natürlich auch gut.

Du meinst mit adidas zusammenzuarbeiten?

Ob das jetzt adidas ist oder Hugo Boss, irgendwas, wo man der Crew sagen könnte, ihr geht jetzt zu eurem Arbeitgeber und kündigt, weil die nächsten fünf Jahre haben wir das Ding sicher, aber das ist natürlich eine Utopie. Wahrscheinlich würden wir das machen, aber ich würde nie sagen, dass ich davon leben muss. Dann wäre das nämlich ein ganz anderer Kampf und wahrscheinlich ginge dann auch die Freude verloren. Ich bin kein Fan von Kollabos, hab ich bis jetzt auch nicht gemacht, wenn allerdings das Ergebnis stimmt… Aber nicht falsch verstehen, das ist nicht das Ziel. Ich glaube eher, dass die uns brauchen, als wir sie. Aber wenn du jemanden reinlässt, der Geld reinsteckt, dann erreichst du in dem Moment vielleicht mehr Leute, bist jedoch auch selbst weg vom Fenster. Ich hab das mit Aveal erlebt. Kumpels von mir haben das in der Garage angefangen. Das wurde dann immer größer und irgendwann hatten die nix mehr damit zu tun. Dann haben das andere Leute weitergemacht und mir war immer klar, dass mir das nicht passiert.

Stjepan Lovric - 50-50 | Photo: Julian Häcker

Stjepan Rail

Stjepan Lovric - 50-50 | Photo: Julian Häcker

Habt ihr denn auch lokale Bezüge? Euer Video heißt ja „Made in Germany“.

Nö, ich seh mich als Weltenbürger. Das „Made in Germany“ kam eher daher, weil die meisten Leute gar nicht wissen, dass wir selbst gemachte Boards haben.

Es steckt also auch nichts typisch Schwäbisches in Own?

Ne, außer Verweigerungshaltung ist was typisch Schwäbisches. Ich find so regionale Bezugnahme auch furchtbar. Wir schauen da lieber, wie andere aus England oder Frankreich das machen.

Ist das für euch ein Thema, das ihr diskutiert, dieses Spannungsfeld zwischen Authentizität und potenziellem Wachstum?

Eigentlich nicht. Ich hab dieses Wachstums-Ding eh nie richtig verstanden. Das ist meiner Meinung nach auch ein Problem unserer Zeit. Jeder kann gerade eine Boardcompany an den Start bringen. Jeder kann Boards bestellen. Du fuzelst eine Grafik zusammen, die wird dann irgendwohin geschickt und dann bekommst du die Boards. Dadurch gibt es in jeder Stadt fünf Companies und jeder Shop macht noch seine eigene Linie. Dadurch kommen die großen Boardcompanies in Bedrängnis. Das ist auch ein Stück weit ein Problem. Da sind wir wieder am Punkt der Kultur. Mir ist der Realness-Faktor sehr wichtig und im Bezug auf Wachstum ist uns wichtig, dass wir mit fair gefertigten Produkten und kurzen Lieferwegen arbeiten, auch was Textil angeht.

Robin Wulf Feeblegrind Stuttgart1Gentsch

Robin Wulf – Feeble Grind | Photo: Thomas Gentsch

Gerade blühen kleine Manufakturen und Handwerkstraditionen ja wieder auf. Spürt ihr das auch?

Nein, aber das mag auch an mir liegen, weil ich nicht damit hausieren gehe. Ich bin auch nicht der Top-Networker. Als ich auf der Bright war, war ich völlig baff, dass viele, z.B. die Lovenskate Jungs aus England, uns kannten. Ich war auch baff, als ich jetzt im Lobby Shop in Hamburg war und der Own kannte und vom Video gehört hatte. Aber man braucht auch einen Dickkopf, um bei seinem Ding zu bleiben, und ich bin heilfroh, viele Dinge nicht gemacht zu haben. Es ist ja auch irgendwie ein deutsches Ding, dass es noch keine Company aus Deutschland so richtig geschafft hat. Jetzt schau’n wir halt mal, wie weit der Weg geht.

Wenn du’s dir aussuchen könntest, wo würde die Reise hingehen?

Ich fänd es schon geil, vom Rest der Welt als coole Company wahrgenommen zu werden. Aber erstens kommt es anders und zweitens als man denkt. Man muss beständig weiterarbeiten und darf sich nicht auf Dingen ausruhen. Da sind wir dann doch wieder beim Schwäbischen. [lacht] Ich muss einfach losgehen und filmen, sonst fehlt mir was. Und es ist dann unbezahlbar, wenn jemand wie Torsten Frank auf der Videopremiere keine Sekunde verpassen will und danach begeistert vor dir steht. Auf der einen Seite will Skateboarding gerade gefallen, will in der Vogue sein, will olympisch sein, wird diktiert von den großen Schuhbrands und, sorry, da sehe ich Own als ein essenzielles Ding. Wenn ich da nicht weitermach, dann tschüss. Wenn ich das jemandem so sag, dann denkt der, ich hab ’ne Macke, aber so seh ich das.

Aber du musst natürlich auch aufpassen. Nicht dass Own zu stark wächst und du dann Tag und Nacht Boards pressen musst.

Nenene – das Board zu kriegen bleibt sehr exklusiv. Mir hat mal jemand gesagt, das wäre schwerer zu bekommen als ein Supreme Board. [lacht] Die Marke wird immer größer, aber dass deshalb mehr Boards verkauft werden, glaube ich nicht. Jürgen Blümlein vom Skateboardmuseum war zusammen mit Lem und Mark Gonzales in Russland. Und wenn Gonz da Jürgens rosa Board im Kofferraum liegen sieht und fragt: „Whose board is this?“, das ist auch wieder so ein geiler Moment. Es wird wahrgenommen. Ich mein, komm, das Robin Board war wohl Board des Jahres. Orange, bam! Da gab’s keins, das im Ansatz mitgehalten hat.

Sheehan Half Cap Farberoth

Sheehan Kneeland – Halfcab | Photo: Lars Roth

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung