is loading
DE EN

Copenhagen Open 2017 Recap

This year’s Copenhagen Open were huge. Gigantic. Maybe even too big. Copenhagen possibly hosts the world’s best skate contest and it draws a crowd from all over the world. They were already raising hell last year, but this year was totally over the top. The hosts also think this was the ultimate – and won't go for another round (at least not in this way) next year. That is precisely why this year was such a party. 

THURSDAY

Litauens Plads

We arrived on thursday and thus missed out on Wednesday’s bowl contest. Litauen Plads was equally packed though and it was a little pretaste of what was still to come. It really gave us some sort of a festival feeling – kind of Skatechella. 

The set-up consisted of the ramps Polar used in Los Angeles (as seen in our current issue). Someone may have won a prize or whatever but that doesn't really matter in Copenhagen, it’s all about fun.

Pilgrimage through the Streets

The whole squad then went through the city, up until Meat Packing District, and skated two more spots on the way. A loading dock ramp and a flatgap. 

Dscf5834

Alec Majerus – Backside Kickflip

Dscf5832

Faby Reichenbach – Man at work

Meat Packing District

The Meat Packing District was equipped with a vert wall and the session went on there. Sure, someone won something here too (well, probably) but we were busy getting drinks so we can’t really give any details. Later there was a Polar x Converse Jack Purcell exhibition, including a clip premiere. Afterwards things went pretty wild. Bonfires, bomb drops in the rain and dance floor striptease – we’ve seen it all. 

Dscf5856

Joscha Aicher

Dscf5867

Hjalte Halberg & Roman Gonzalez

Dscf5868

Destroyed Jan Hoffmann

Dscf5872

Polar x Converse Exhibition

Dscf5873

Polar Jack Purcell

Dscf5876

Ali Boulala

Dscf5880

Polar x Cons clip premiere

FRIDAY

Levi’s Boat Ride

Friday – it was still raining. Luckily Levi’s organized an indoor brunch so we could have some warm-up drinks before we went aboard. The boat ride went on and so did the drinking, just to celebrate the Skate 501 launch in a brewery – with a couple of beers.

Dscf5912

Al Partanen

Dscf5910

A boat trip is fun

Dscf5904

Under the bridge

Session at the Triangel

It finally quit pouring in the evening so Levi’s Triangel Park could be skated. If we’re not mistaken, Luan Oliveira won – but the actual highlight (sorry Luan) was the mobile sauna.

Dscf5939

Mobile Sauna

SATURDAY

Planetariet

The weather got better on Saturday so the first spot was completely packed. The only place you could shoot actual photos from was the Planetariet’s roof. After a mellow line session everyone started moshing down the stair set – and running into the crowd. 

Dscf6018

Down by the water

Dscf6014

Richie Valdez & Daniel Vargas

Dscf6023

Stealing Sam Ashley’s shot

Dscf6043

Where’s Waldo?

Dscf6044

Stairsession

Dscf6056

Jamie Foy – Treflip

Dscf6069

Team media snipers

Dscf6082

Tommy Fynn – Backside Flip

Finals

Last but not least we went to the skatepark for the finals. It was just as crowded as Planetariet and we’ll be brief here: Ishod won, because, well, he’s the best, pure and simple. After the contest the death race started and Busenitz surprisingly did not win – Mason Silva stole his title. They also did a barrel jump and a kicker session, flying right through fog machine fog and confetti. Heavy drinking started right after and the bar went out of beer really quickly but had supply on hand. Lots of familiar faces. Someones birthday. Yadayadayada.

It was all great fun, but pretty exhausting too. It might be a good decision not to do a contest like this again next year – always stop at the top. We would be happy to come over for a mellow version too. So, see you next year!

Dscf6159

Ishod

Dscf6161

Winning!

Dscf6224

Vladik Scholz

Dscf6227

Thumbs Up team Hamburg

Dscf6238

Sara – poppin bottles

Dscf6228

Nora Vasconcellos dance performance

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

Frank – Out of Business

Jul 24, 2017
NXT

Quartersnacks – Keep Skateboarding Romantic

Jul 21, 2017

is loading
DE EN

Copenhagen Open 2017 Recap

Die Copenhagen Open waren dieses Jahr groß. Richtig groß. Möglicherweise zu groß. Man hat in Kopenhagen den wahrscheinlich besten Skatecontest der Welt erschaffen, der mittlerweile in Scharen Leute aus der ganzen Welt anzieht. Schon letztes Jahr war die Hölle los, aber dieses Jahr wurde das nochmal getoppt. Das Maximum ist damit wohl erreicht – das fanden auch die Veranstalter und werden den Contest (in dieser Form zumindest) nächstes Jahr nicht mehr stattfinden lassen. Deshalb wurde noch ein letztes Mal so richtig zelebriert.

DONNERSTAG

Litauens Plads

Wir kamen erst am Donnerstag an und haben deshalb den Bowlcontest am Mittwoch verpasst. Es soll aber wohl ziemlich voll gewesen sein. Voll war es auch am ersten Spot, dem "Litauens Plads". Es sollte ein Vorgeschmack für das restliche Wochenende werden, denn es herrschte schon fast Festivalstimmung. Ein bisschen Skatechella.

Geskatet wurden die Rampen, mit denen Polar kürzlich in Los Angeles unterwegs war (zu sehen in unserer aktuellen Ausgabe). Irgendwer hat wahrscheinlich auch gewonnen. Möglicherweise gar Geld. Aber das ist bei den CPH Open ja eh nebensächlich. Hauptsache Spaß.

Pilgrimage through the Streets

Die riesige Meute machte sich dann auf durch die Stadt und zog im Konvoi Richtung Meat Packing District. Auf dem Weg wurden zwei weitere Spots geskatet. Ein Gap eine Laderampe runter und ein Flatgap.

Dscf5834

Alec Majerus – Backside Kickflip

Dscf5832

Faby Reichenbach – Man at work

Meat Packing District

Am Meat Packing District war dann eine Vertwall aufgebaut und die Session ging weiter. Auch hier hat sicher irgendwer gewonnen, aber wir waren sehr mit Bier trinken beschäftigt, deshalb konnten wir das leider nicht im Detail verfolgen. Später war dann noch die Polar x Converse Ausstellung zur Jack Purcell Schuh-Kollabo, samt Premiere des Clips und danach war Eskalation. Lagerfeuer, sinnlose Bomb Drop Aktionen im Regen und Shirt auf der Tanzfläche ausziehen inklusive.

Dscf5856

Joscha Aicher

Dscf5867

Hjalte Halberg & Roman Gonzalez

Dscf5868

Destroyed Jan Hoffmann

Dscf5872

Polar x Converse Exhibition

Dscf5873

Polar Jack Purcell

Dscf5876

Ali Boulala

Dscf5880

Polar x Cons clip premiere

FRIDAY

Levi’s Boat Ride

Freitag fing an wie der Donnerstag endete – mit Regen. Levi’s hatte glücklicherweise einen Brunch im Trockenen organisiert, auf dem man sich für die darauffolgende Bootsfahrt warmtrinken konnte. An Bord ging es dann weiter mit Bier um abschließend bei der Präsentation der neuen Skate 501 in einer Brauerei nochmal etwas flüssig nachzuspülen.

Dscf5912

Al Partanen

Dscf5910

A boat trip is fun

Dscf5904

Under the bridge

Session at the Triangel

Nachdem man den Nachmittag und die leider ausgefallene Session an der Meerjungfrau überbrückt hatte, wurde es dann tatsächlich noch trocken und es ging am Levi’s Triangel Park los. Wenn die Erinnerung nicht trügt, hat dort Luan Oliveira gewonnen, aber das eigentliche Highlight war die mobile Sauna, die rege genutzt wurde.

Dscf5939

Mobile Sauna

SAMSTAG

Planetariet

Am Samstag war wieder besseres Wetter und der erste Spot am Planetarium wurde deshalb erneut komplett überlaufen. Einen passenden Foto Spot zu finden war damit fast unmöglich – außer man konnte sich auf das Dach des Planetariums durchschlagen. Nach einer Line Session ging es an die Stufen und es wurde fleißig in die Menge gemosht.

Dscf6018

Down by the water

Dscf6014

Richie Valdez & Daniel Vargas

Dscf6023

Stealing Sam Ashley’s shot

Dscf6043

Where’s Waldo?

Dscf6044

Stairsession

Dscf6056

Jamie Foy – Treflip

Dscf6069

Team media snipers

Dscf6082

Tommy Fynn – Backside Flip

Finals

Zu guter Letzt ging es schließlich weiter in den Skatepark, wo das Finale anstand. Der Park platzte aus allen Nähten und machen wir es kurz: Am Ende hat Ishod Wair gewonnen, weil er einfach der Geilste ist! Danach war noch Deathrace und die Überraschung dabei war, dass Dennis Busenitz nur Zweiter wurde – gewonnen hat Mason Silva. Barrell Jump gab es auch noch und zum Schluss eine Session über einen Kicker, mitten durch Nebelmaschinennebel und Konfettikanone. Danach war nur noch trinken angesagt, weshalb die Bar auch relativ schnell schlapp machte und die Biervorräte alle waren. Irgendwann gab es allerdings wieder Nachschub. Tanzfläche. Viele bekannte Gesichter. Irgendwer hatte Geburtstag. Yadayadayada.

Es war wieder mal ein großer Spaß, aber auch ziemlich anstrengend. Deshalb die beste Entscheidung, am Höhepunkt abzutreten und das Ganze, wenn überhaupt, wieder viel kleiner fortzuführen. Vielleicht dann bis nächstes Jahr.

Dscf6159

Ishod

Dscf6161

Winning!

Dscf6224

Vladik Scholz

Dscf6227

Thumbs Up team Hamburg

Dscf6238

Sara – poppin bottles

Dscf6228

Nora Vasconcellos dance performance

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung